We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the price, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Virginia Arlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inns Of Virginia Arlington to your Saves list
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3335 Lee Highway, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent for the price, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Hotel was a good value and very close to DC. Room was clean, if basic, but I wasn't expecting much for the price I paid. Bed frame seemed warped, as the left half of my bed sloped at a moderate angle. Wifi was free, but slow and spotty. Hotel was conveniently located to DC. Overall, not bad.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
21
19
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

This is definitely a 2 star. Rooms were clean but that's about it. Beds were lightweight, sliding off the box spring when you just sit on it. Only had one pillow each which was thinner than a credit card. Had to go to the desk twice to get another. There were really no amenities except a coffee maker with horrible coffee. No internet, no movie channels and in the bathroom, no hair dryer, thin towels, etc. Breakfast was OJ and some bagels. That's it.
Probably more important is that the entrance is a driveway with about a 40 degree angle, which would be hazardous with snow/ice. There is only the one entrance and I think, especially for older folks, possibly dangerous.
There was also trash on the side of the hotel by the front entrance. I went to the front desk and informed them that the trashcan was overflowing and trash flying about. 24 hours later it was still there. It looks bad and is not a good reflection on the hotel.
Also, in order to get to the metro you have to walk to the bus stop and then purchase bus tickets. Before we even got on the train we had spent $1.35 per person each way for the bus. So, for the four of us $10.80 per day in bus fees alone. We then decided to drive to the train station, which cost us $4.50 per day but you have to purchase the fare card for $5.00. No cash is accepted at the car lot.
I would say this hotel borders on poor but not quite. We are pretty easy travelers and would rather have a mediocre hotel and spend money on tours, etc. So, for the money and location, we did okay but we would not go here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I took a one-hour nap in the first afternoon after check-in. I got bitten by bedbugs!!!

I switched a room, and then it was ok for the other nights.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maddynmel, Front Office Manager at Inns Of Virginia Arlington, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
I would like to apologize to this guest for what appears to have been a very unpleasant stay for him/her. Anytime that an issue arrises at the hotel it is attended to imediately. We take great care to make sure that all rooms and lobby/hallways are clean. If ever a room is not up to par the guest is welcome to contact the manager and the situation will be rectified as soon as possible. We strive to offer our customers the best possible service at an affordable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

The hotel is located at 3335 Lee Hwy, in Arlington, VA and is 4 miles from the Downtown DC area. We got a rate of $84 per night and it goes down to $59 if you stay 8 nights or more. The rooms are small but are clean and have a micro/fridge. They offer coffee and bagels in the morning from 6a to 9a. The only complaint I have is that they did not sweep the fallen tree blooms in the back and they tracked in everywhere in the hotel including our room. Also, the driveway is very steep and if you are trying to walk and it is raining, you may slip, so drive in only. Overall, it is a good place to sleep when attending DC functions.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

So think motel. Car park, minimal reception area (friendly manager, no Swiss service tho'), not expensive. Breakfast was minimal too, supermarket bagels, jelly/cream cheese, coffee and juice. Help yourself, take it back to your room. The internet works well. The room was clean, everything worked, it was generously sized, quiet... had tea/coffee, and a proper bath tub. This is an efficient, stripped-down machine for staying! If you need to stay in Arlington and all you need is a clean comfortable bed, your search is over. If you have higher expectations, you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

I,have been staying here at various times,on occassion,for many years.The staff and management are always friendly,and service accomadating.I,have seen this property since inns of Virginia was founded.This property has done nohing but improved since it was opened under,its present owners a exceptional local Co. from maryland.This property,for its size and location ,is both safely located,and centrally positioned in Beautiful "Cherrydale",section of North Arlington Virginia.Close to (2) grocery stores,and (2) 7-11 s' ,and a 24 hour C.V.S. Pharmacy and Rite-Aid pharmacy.All within walking distance.AND,A Direct -Line telephone to Red Top TAXI Company.A,singular excellent transportation Cab and Limo CO.bar none.for the price I reccomend,this inns of virginia very highly.PLUS there are (3) more IN surrounding townes.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

This is a reasonable budget motel, with a below-average price and rooms and service to match.

Price: I paid $97 plus tax for a single – a good price for the area. Be warned that the "total price” at the bottom of the quote by One Travel for this and other properties does not include taxes.

Location: The motel is a long walk from the Metro, but is conveniently located for those with cars. The motel driveway is a potential tourist attraction – it would be rated “black diamond” at many ski resorts. The neighborhood is mixed residential / commercial and does not present security concerns.

Room: The single room was small. There was just enough room to walk around the bed. Almost on a budget European or Japanese scale. The room was well equipped – the usual stuff plus microwave and mini-fridge. And the wifi worked well. My room was quite dark, with one slit window.

Maintenance: On arrival, the room was clean but the toilet was clogged. I mentioned this to the front desk. The toilet was not fixed when I returned to the room hours later. I ended up using the ice bucket to dump very hot water into the toilet until the clog cleared. Do-it-yourself plumbing should not be needed, even in this price range.

Clientele: Exceptionally diverse, from school groups on class trips and to business travelers working in Ballston. One night, I found two teachers sitting in the middle of the second floor hallway reading quietly. They were making sure boys and girls did not sneak out of their assigned rooms or raise too much of a ruckus.

Service: The front desk clerk was not interested in offering advice on local restaurants and attractions. This was just as well, since the advice we ultimately extracted was not very good. Check-in and check-out were a little slower than normal, even without others checking in or out at the same time.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Plumbing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Virginia Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Virginia Arlington

Address: 3335 Lee Highway, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inns Of Virginia Arlington 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inns Of Virginia Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Virginia Arlington Hotel Arlington
Hotel Of Virginia Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Virginia Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.