We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202-2891   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rates from $89!
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The staff were great with me. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The location is convenient for the most part. The metro station was close enough for walking distance and the hotel is very close to the airport. There are places to go to (shopping, restaurants, bars) around the hotel as well. The sky bar was really cool and it provides a great view of DC. The only downside of the bar was that the food was expensive especially with the tiny portion size.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. i am so glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay and have positive interactions with the staff. We are fortunate to be so close to the Airport, Metro, Washington DC, and so much more. It allows us to offer our guests the DC experience without the DC prices. Another great perk of our location is the stunning view of Washington DC from many of our rooms. As great as the view from those rooms is, it is only topped by the view from the Skydome. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your Skydome experience. We recently changed our menu so I am hopeful that if you return you will be happier with the options and portion size.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    515
    328
    148
    79
See reviews for
387
231
125
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a chain that is usually a consistent choice for business travelers, and this unit is located very close to Reagan Airport in the Washington, DC area. The meeting facilities were very good, but rooms in general are not up to date and while wireless internet was available, it was not free and spotty at best, unless you are an elite Hilton member or attending a conference at which the host is paying for internet access. Also, the hotel appears to be in a cellphone dead area, and frequently signal is weak or absent for 3G or 4G. While there are services and restaurants a few blocks away from the hotel, there was only limited food service in the hotel, except room service, after early evening. The only dining, from a limited menu in the evening is in the bar. The food is ok, but limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had Internet & Cell Phone challenges. I have not heard of there being any cell phone dead spots in the hotel until your comment. The majority of our Operations Management team uses cell phones through out the hotel as does so many of our guests that I would think this would have come up prior if there are dead spots in the hotel. I am unsure why you had a challenge using your cell phone, but believe this is an isolated incident. Again, I am sorry that you were frustrated by this.

Hilton Worldwide has made the decision to charge for Internet in all full service hotels (Doubletree, Embassy Suites, and Hilton). This is similar to the decision that most major hotel chains have made (Marriott, Sheraton, Hyatt, etc) as they to charge for the Internet in their full service brands. As you mentioned it is complimentary for Hilton Honors Diamond & Gold members. We also offer complimentary wifi in our lobby & Lobby Bar. The business center offers three computers ready to surf the web at no charge.

The management in the food & beverage department often change our menus and really appreciate guest suggestions. Please contact me with items you would like to see so I can pass it on to them.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

hotel and rooms were okay. service was good. some concerns about quality of food at breakfast.downstair bar was closed and you had ten dollar cover to get into upstairs bar. Pool was closed but did not find out to arrival. Rooms were cleaned. Location to Metro was great as it was a short walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your room accommodations and the service met your expectations. I am interested to know more about your concerns with the food quality at breakfast and hope you will contact me with some details. The Lobby Bar was closed, but when that occurs we waive the $10 cover charge for all guests. I am sorry that you were not made aware of this.

As soon as we found out the pool would have to be closed from mid December until early April a notice was posted on the front page of our website. We really do not want anyone to be disappointed or surprised by this and I am sorry you were.

Thank you again for posting a review and for choosing to stay with us. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Overall the stay was great, we were greeted and provided the standard upgrades provided by Hilton for a Gold member. Linens were clean and clear. The housekeeping was great. Our only true issue was the fact that even though WIFI was provided via my Gold upgrade, the signal was so poor in the room I was forced to use my phone's internet only (don't have tethering). So my advice to you is if you are Gold or need the WIFI, make sure you ask for a room with a good signal...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so glad to read that you had an overall positive experience and felt appreciated as a Gold HHonors member. I appreciate your comment on the housekeeper and hope you will send me your room number so we can recognize her for her efforts in making a positive impact on your stay.

I am so sorry that the Internet signal caused your frustration. It is important that if any of our guests have this challenge he/she lets us know. We have an outside company that can troubleshoot to ensure all the routers are working fine. We also may have an opportunity to offer a room change to one with a stronger signal. Once again, I am sorry for the challenge you experienced.

Thank you again for posting a review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope you return soon! As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Ts hotel is a great value for the money. It is is convenient to DC, shopping and restaurants. Great staff, great cafe for breakfast. Everyone was very helpful from check in to check out. Room was very clean and modern. Hotel garage parking was average cost for area but it was convenient. Elevator access to the garage from our room floor. If you don't want to stay far out or right in downtown Washington DC, check out this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am so glad to read that you felt the hotel offers a fantastic value as that is so important to many of our guests. We are fortunate to be in a location that is so close to the Airport, Pentagon, Metro, Shopping, many offices, and Washington DC.

Your comment on the staff and room cleanliness is appreciated as they work so hard to offer this same experience to all of our guests. Thank you again for your review and for the recommendation. We hope you come to stay with us again. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time & wish all the readers of our reviews a happy holiday season -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This Hilton fan is obligated to caution other travelers about this hotel. Rooms are dated, but I wouldn't let that preclude you from staying there, but losing sleep & rest while suffering through the night club that's 5 floors above you is. There's no way to stifle the noise or vibration that pulses through your room until the wee hours of the morning. If you're there to party through the night, this could be the hotel for you. If you're looking for a safe, quiet place to get some rest, I'd highly reconsider staying at this property.

Room Tip: Avoid the tower with the night club in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry that you had some challenges during your stay. While hearing music playing loudly is frustrating, I do not believe it was from the Skydome. The Skydome has music every night and a DJ every weekend and this is not a comment I have heard before regarding the Skydome. If this was a challenge with the Skydome, I am sure it would appear in other TripAdvisor comments, but i do not recall seeing it before. However, there may have been a guest on the floor above playing loud music and that is what you heard. I wish you would have let us know while you were here as we would have gladly had security look into it and if it could not be resolved, we would have offered a room change to you. I am sorry this disturbance occurred.

I do hope readers of this review will read the many others to find this is not a challenge experienced by our other guests there should be absolutely no concern of hearing the Skydome music. I truly am sorry that your sleep was disturbed and hope you will return. To ease your concerns we would be happy to place you in the South Tower.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you return soon. Please know that we will work hard to exceed your expectations. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our family stayed at the DoubleTree by Hilton on December 18 and 19, 2013. We all gathered at the hotel to attend a funeral at Arlington Cemetery. The hotel was clean and tastefully decorated. Our rooms were pleasant and well-equipped. The beds were comfortable and the water was hot. We wanted to visit with family members we hadn’t seen in a while before the funeral. The lobby area is set up with meeting areas that we were able to arrange perfectly to accommodate our group. The staff was very helpful. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry for your loss, but glad we could make this difficult time a little easier for you. It is nice to read that the accommodations met your expectations and it is appreciated that you mentioned the water is hot as we are so glad that challenge has been corrected.

The open seating provided in the lobby area is something we get so much positive feedback about. Like you, many guests take advantage of the ample seating to meet up with family. Others meet with colleagues and some just prefer the friendly atmosphere than sitting in their room.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope you will visit again and if so, I hope it is for a much happier occasion. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Address: 300 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202-2891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Arlington
#26 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport and located across the Potomac from Washington D.C. just two blocks from the Pentagon and Fashion Centre Shopping Mall. Houses the areas only revolving rooftop restaurant and lounge featuring views of the DC skyline. Amenities include luxurious guest rooms and suites with high speed internet access, fitness center, indoor heated pool, lobby bar, cafe, and fine dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton - Washington Dc - Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Crystal City National Airport
Doubletree Hotel Crystal City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.