We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No attention to the details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202-2891   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $99!
Ranked #31 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Phoenix
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“No attention to the details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

I just returned from 2 nights at the Doubletree Crystal City Hotel.
I arrived around 6:30 pm and there was a little bit of a line. I tried using one of the kiosks in reception to check in. It printed out a slip telling me to go to the reception desk. Several colleagues who arrived earlier said they experienced the same thing, so I'm not sure why the kiosk is even there.

Although I had a reservation and confirmation number (the conference booked our rooms for us) I was told at reception that they didn't have any more rooms available for the night. I explained that I had a confirmed reservation, and she rudely told me that I should have arrived earlier in the day. A manager overheard and came over, and instantly found me a room.

My room was in the north tower and was supposedly a non-smoking room. It must have recently been converted (without changing carpet, drapes, or wall paper) because it had a faint smell of stale smoke, combined with a slight sewage smell. I called and asked for another room and was told that they were completely full and there were no other rooms.

The room was a decent size and layout. It was clean, but still had an overall grimy feel to it. The lack of attention to details was evident through out the room. On the wall next to my bed, a rather large picture had been removed. The hardware was still on the wall and I'm assuming they used some sort of spray adhesive on the wall to keep the picture (when it used to be there) from sliding. As a result, the wall was disgustingly sticky!! In order to deal with the grossness of that, I created a fun game of "what can the wall hold". A tissue would stick to the wall and not fall off; a piece of note paper wold stick for about 30 seconds; a washrag would stick for about 15 seconds before it fell off; a hand towel was too heavy and wouldn't stick at all.

Again, it could have been a nicer place if they paid attention to other details - the carpet was stained, there were stains on the bathroom counter, the bathroom wall had holes filled with brown spackle, and most of the wall outlets were installed crooked. Some of the towels were stained. My air conditioning worked well, but sounded like a jet was taking off in my room, so I couldn't run it while trying to sleep.

The bed was reasonably comfortable, but a bit too soft for my preference. The shower enclosure was a bit ugly and weird, but the water pressure was nice and the water got nice and hot. I just wished that the shower head was up higher and over my head, instead of neck level.

The restaurants were rather mediocre. There is a large menu posted outside the lobby bar, but you can't actually order off that menu - only the more limited bar menu. My first night, I got a pepperoni pizza which tasted like it was straight from the freezer section of my grocery store. It was a big production to get crushed red pepper to put on it. I also had lunch one day at the Cafe restaurant. I ordered the Salad Nicoise but received something else. It had barely seared tunu, romain, green beens, cucumbers, neon orange cheese (kraft singles??), radishes, and a few other ingredients that did not match the description on the menu. I told my waiter that it was wrong, and he insisted that he brought what I ordered. I made him get me a menu and compared what I had to the menu description and even then he argued that I got what I ordered. I told him to send it back and I didn't want another one. I ended up getting a sandwich instead. It tasted ok, but several hours later, I felt sick to my stomach.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    405
    266
    118
    65
See reviews for
313
183
107
427
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Good experience overall. The room itself was nice, and we had a view of the Monument, Capitol, and other Washington landmarks. Only complaints would have to be on the shuttle service - very unreliable, and we had to wait a long time for the one from DCA to the hotel - and that we had to wait an additional half hour to check in when we got to the hotel. Granted, though, we were checking in at 12:30, instead of the usual 3pm check-in time.

Overall: nice hotel, worth staying at.

  • Liked — Nice rooms, pool, overall atmostphere.
  • Disliked — Shuttle service was unreliable.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside of Lowell, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We arrived at this hotel where we had booked a Jr. Suite. We hate to be all in one room as our 7 year old needs to get to bed earlier than my husband/ I and our teenagers do. Booked thru the national reservation line.
When we arrived the check in clerk was very polite but informed me "yes most of our hotels have two room suites but we don't. But you have a Jr. Suite booked." Well people, the Jr. Suite is ONE ROOM with two double beds and a double pull out sofa. NOT A SUITE IN MY BOOK!!
Hotel was a bit rundown and could use some refurbishing (and we are NOT hotel snobs by any means). We were in the South tower with a nice view of the Pentagon and the Washington Monument though. The North tower is newer, so if you can stay there. Lots of airline personnel stay at this hotel.
Staff was very polite and helpful. We had to call as our AC didn't work. Man came right away to "fix it". Well he made it a bit better but our room was pretty hot still the entire stay.
One nite (during our six nite stay) we were sleeping at 2AM someone named "Kelly" opened the door into our room w/her keycard saying she had been assigned this room. Thankfully we had the deadlock on and the door only opened a couple inches. She was nice and said sorry and went downstairs to get another room. This was UNACCEPTABLE.
Front desk wasn't much interested in this when we went down the next AM. Said sorry and gave us a new keycard.
Food at the hotel restaurants is very expensive (as it is all over DC) but only just fair to eat.
Hotel pool has Nazi lifeguards who actually made our kids get out of the pool to shower before they got in. But they already WERE in when the lifeguard told them to shower first. Never been in a hotel where you really HAD to shower first, though all hotels have that sign. That was weird. Guess we can say the pool is clean though.
I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — View was nice.
  • Disliked — Pretty much everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokes Bluff, AL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

This was a nice hotel with a location close to the Pentagon and other military activities. The room was clean and everything was laid out in nice order. The revolving lounge at the top had an excellent view of DC. Check-in went quickly and the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall I had a good stay at this hotel and would stay there again.

Pros:
Location
Revolving Lounge (for the view)
Good restaurants on site
Clean
Friendly staff

Cons
Smallish rooms

  • Liked — The view from the rooftop revolving lounge
  • Disliked — The small size of the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

I have stayed here twice and both times were great. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and offer great views (well my rooms did).
I only wish the rooms had refrigerators since I have a baby. Also the restaurant downstairs and the Starbucks are kind of expensive and not that great.

  • Liked — The view. It is also within walking distance to the Metro and to the mall.
  • Disliked — I wish it had refrigerators in the room.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

I attended a seminar at this hotel over the Memorial Day Weekend 2008 and stayed 4 nights. I am a frequent traveler and have stayed in hotels of all kinds all over the world, and would probably rate this hotel square in the middle. Not great, not terrible, just Ok. I paid a reduced group rate, but if you're not part of a group there are many better options in Crystal City for the full room rate. I stayed in a non-smoking King room in the North Tower.

Plusses:
-- Room was very clean, and housekeeping very attentive
-- Room was comfortable and adequate size; included coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, Neutrogena soap/shampoo/conditioner/lotion
-- Close walk to Metro and shopping, and not terribly far from the shops and restaurants on Crystal Drive (although good luck getting that info from the Concierge)
-- Airport and local shuttle (I did not use this)
-- Doubletree's usual chocolate chip cookies on check-in
-- Kiosk in lobby serving Starbucks coffee (coffee served in meetings also Starbucks, so if you only want regular coffee, skip the kiosk and get the free stuff offered at your meeting/conference)
-- Computers in lobby with free Internet access
-- Convenience store in lobby with snacks, drinks, toiletries, books, souvineers, etc (though very expensive, i.e. $2.50 for a Coke, $3+ for water... drinks are less expensive in the vending machines located on each floor)
-- Great views of the Pentagon from some rooms (not mine) and great views of DC from the revolving bar/club on the top floor

Minuses:
-- Most of the staff I encountered were very rude and unhelpful. The Concierge didn't seem to know what was available near the hotel, nor was he interested in finding out. One woman in particular at the coffee kiosk was very rude and visibly rolled her eyes at me and sighed when I asked for a cup of ice water.
-- I did not eat in the hotel restaurant, but the food at the lobby bar was very overpriced and not very good. Service was extremely slow. Food served at the conference was average, edible but nothing special.
-- The room was very worn-- to the point that at first I thought the bathroom and carpets were dirty.
-- The shower was very strange, a pre-fab fiberglass "bubble" with a low showerhead. Water pressure/temperature were great, but I had to duck to fit (and I'm only about 5'9). It also seemed poorly made, as the floor of the tub had some "give" to it, and moved slightly as I walked.
-- Bar/club on top floor has a $10 cover charge on weekends, and is extremely loud and dark. Go there if you want to drink and dance. Don't go there if you want to talk to anyone.
-- Parking is $19 per day self-park and $26 per day valet. This is typical for Crystal City, just be aware of it when comparing prices (on the plus side, parking was ample, well-lit and safe)

As I said, overall it was just average. The most important thing to me is cleanliness, and this hotel scored high marks on that. Most of the minuses are things I can put up with, especially when paying a group rate. However at full room price, I would choose to stay elsewhere in Crystal City.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

I was attending a meeting at this hotel. I booked the room approximately 8 weeks in advance. When I arrived I was told that there were no more nonsmoking rooms left. I was also told that they routinely overbook the rooms and that this is a frequent occurrence. I travel a lot with business and have never had this happen before. It makes me wonder about the booking policy at this hotel.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Address: 300 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202-2891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#26 Business Hotel in Arlington
#27 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport and located across the Potomac from Washington D.C. just two blocks from the Pentagon and Fashion Centre Shopping Mall. Houses the areas only revolving rooftop restaurant and lounge featuring views of the DC skyline. Amenities include luxurious guest rooms and suites with high speed internet access, fitness center, indoor heated pool, lobby bar, cafe, and fine dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton - Washington Dc - Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Crystal City National Airport
Doubletree Hotel Crystal City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.