We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo trip to attend services at Arlington Ntl Cemetery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202-2891   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $109!
Ranked #30 of 48 hotels in Arlington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solo trip to attend services at Arlington Ntl Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staff was very accommodating and compassionate with the family who selected this venue and their guests. Staff was able to satisfy my check-in request for a room with a roll in shower. The room was clean and spacious. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry for the loss that you had, but being your loved one is buried at Arlington National Cemetery he/she must have been a hero.

I am glad you had a positive hotel experience. We understand how important requests like yours are and do our absolute best to accommodate them.

Thank you again for your review and I hope when you return it is for happier times. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    365
    230
    101
    52
See reviews for
272
164
97
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had to travel to DC for a work conference which was scheduled in this hotel. Very convenient to the airport and they offer free shuttle service- very nice. The room was just OK, typical hotel room nothing fancy but suffices for 2 days. Location was good as it was in walking distance to shops and restaurants. The conference was a little unorganized with hotel staff billing rooms incorrectly, some staff at the front desk knew which rooms were scheduled for the conference- some did not. Heard things were not set up the way conference organizers had requested.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor. I was on 8 and had views but colleagues on 3 did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found the room to meet your needs and the hotel location to be convenient. It is very helpful to our guests that we provide complimentary shuttle service to the Airport & Metro.

I am surprised to read that you experienced these challenges with your group and apologize for any inconvenience. The hotel has 31,000 square feet of meeting space and we house groups ranging in size from 5 people to 300ppl. Typically the groups run smooth and everything is pre-arranged. Again, I am sorry you experienced a challenge and hope it was rectified quickly.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had to run my wife up to D.C. in order to renew her passport and we were faced with a number of choices on where to stay. As usual in circumstances such as this you are faced with several factors which influence your decision. Location, freebies, and cost always play a major role and Doubletree came out ahead in my mind for the competition we looked at.

We arrived on the afternoon of 3 April and were met by a staff member who inquired if we needed help parking the car or with our bags. Since we were traveling light I handled this myself. The parking garage is in the two lower levels of the hotel and there was plenty of room to park. We took the elevator up to the lobby and check-in was a snap. We received our free cookies and internet access as promised and proceeded to our room. The hotel has two different towers and we stayed in the North Tower. There were plenty of elevators and all were in working condition and ran quite well.

The room was decent size and was in good condition. There were a few minor cosmetic flaws with one or two things in the room but nothing you probably don't have in your own home. The double beds were very nice and the multiple pillows were much appreciated. A mini-fridge and an LG large screen TV with a decent number of channels was more than enough to satisfy everyone.

We ate at the Sky Dome that evening. The view on this revolving eatery was to die for. Great 360 degree views of DC. The food was fairly expensive, but it was fantastic. The wife had the crab crusted salmon and my son and I went with the steak.

The next day we left bright and early to handle my wife's passport renewal. The hotel provides a shuttle to the Pentagon City Metro Station as well as Reagan Airport. It runs every 30 minutes on the hour and the half hour. It is large, with plenty of seating. Considering it was around 30 F that morning it was worth it instead of trekking by foot to the station.

That evening my son wanted to go swimming, so my wife took him up to the 14th floor pool. It was jammed pack, but he had a great time and slept like a log that night. It's extremely warm and humid at the pool so if you're taking yours kids but don't plan on swimming yourself be aware of that.

Checkout Friday morning was a breeze and I would be happy to come back to the Doubletree for a more vacation like trip in the future as the rooms are very nice and the hotel is just a hop skip and a jump from all the sites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I can appreciate some solid research in determining where to stay and it is so nice to read that after considering all the factors that the Doubletree by Hilton Washington DC - Crystal City was the top choice!

We understand that after long car or plane ride that the last thing guests want is a long check in. I am glad your arrival was met with a friendly face and your check in was quick. It is nice to read that you enjoyed the room and found it to fit your needs.

I am so happy to read that you went to the Skydome and recommend to all of our guests to go up there. The view is stunning and the revolving floor makes it a truly unique experience in the area. I appreciate you mentioning how great an experience you had in the Skydome.

It is always nice to have the option of walking or taking the shuttle to the Metro, but especially on days when the weather does not cooperate. This time of year, when there are so many families and tour groups that come to the area, the pool is quite busy. I am glad your son got to enjoy a swim. I will mention to the pool operator you comment on the temperature outside the pool as it should not be uncomfortable for those not swimming.

Thank you again for your review. I appreciate the recommendation and we hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just recently stayed at the DoubleTree Hilton on April 2nd and 3rd. I went with my two sons to go see the sites in Washington and see my other son perform a Wreath Laying Ceremony at the Arlington National Cemetery. We had a King size 2 room suite and it was great!! We had such a good time and what made it even better was the way that we were taken care of at the hotel. Abbie and Thelma are the best!! They really went above and beyond in their customer service treatment of me and my boys. Thank you so much for all you did for us!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I really appreciate you coming to stay with us for such a special occasion like a wreath laying. I am so glad that you had an enjoyable experience. We are lucky to have Abbie & Salmah as they are very dedicated to working hard to ensure our guests are happy. I appreciate you mentioning them.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope you return soon and we will work just as hard to exceed your expectations. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inlet, ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The breakfast coupon that is good for "grab and go options" are nice, but the selection was poor.

The valet Parker could have been more friendly with regard to unloading from a handicapped vehicle.

The remodel of the lobby was done very nicely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not find the choices for the continental breakfast to be to your liking. You are more than welcome to make a suggestion on what you would like to see. The Food & Beverage Director often uses guest feedback/suggestions to guide any changes made.

Regardless of whether a vehicle is handicap accessible or not, the valet service should offer a friendly attitude. My apologies to you that this was not the case. While the valet staff is run from an outside company, the employees are expected to follow the same high guest service standards as our employees. I will be sure to pass your comment to the parking manager.

I appreciate your kind words on the lobby remodel. The feedback has been tremendously positive from our guests and I am glad to read you too enjoy the new look.

Thank you again for your review and I hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I read a lot of reviews about this hotel before booking, and on my experience all I can say is THANK YOU to the staff, they were very nice all over the hotel. The room and bathroom was perfectly clean, I asked for more towels the first day and didn't have to ask for more on my second day. Staff at lobby was very helpful with information about taking the shuttle to the metro station, restaurant around the hotel, etc. My room was 1354 recently updated. We were 4 (my friend and daughters). I just would like they have a channel in Spanish and more channels for kids

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you had a positive experience. All reviews are shared with the staff so they will get your thank you and it is very much appreciated. We strive to offer each guest an experience like yours so it is rewarding to know how much you enjoyed your stay.

When changes are made to the channels available it is often based on guest suggestions. Yours will be considered when changes are made.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room was ok, the coffee pot didn't work, the noise from other rooms--pipes and things, seemed to make it an older hotel. It has an outstanding view of the WAshington Monument and D.C. from the rooftop lounge. The pool was full of kids and the water cold. They do have a careline so you can call at any time with issues. The bathroom was small and older.

Room Tip: It was pricey for what you got but the location was good as was the free shuttle to Pentagon City an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Feldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you enjoyed the view from the Skydome. We are fortunate to have a location that offers unobstructed views from both the Skydome and many of our rooms. I am sorry the coffee pot did not work properly and hope you let us know so we could have it replaced. Also I apologize that outside noise was a disturbance for you.

I appreciate you mentioning the CAREline as it is monitored 24 hours a day and set up to help in any way to make a guest experience even better. The pool is popular with the children this time of year brings a lot of them. I hope you were still able to enjoy a swim.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton - Washington Dc - Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Doubletree By Hilton - Washington Dc - Crystal City Hotel
Doubletree Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Crystal City National Airport
Doubletree Hotel Crystal City
Address: 300 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202-2891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Arlington
#24 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport and located across the Potomac from Washington D.C. just two blocks from the Pentagon and Fashion Centre Shopping Mall. Houses the areas only revolving rooftop restaurant and lounge featuring views of the DC skyline. Amenities include luxurious guest rooms and suites with high speed internet access, fitness center, indoor heated pool, lobby bar, cafe, and fine dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.