We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202-2891   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rates from $89!
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Newmarket, Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very good hotel close to the airport. The front desk team and breakfast area staff at this hotel were very focused on good customer service. During breakfast, the staff was very attentive to making sure I had everything thing I needed. Nice team overall and this is what sticks out in my mind the most. The lobby area is very nice. Rooms were quite good and clean...no issues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for the review. I am so glad you had positive interactions with the team and the staff exceeded your expectations. We understand our guests have so many options to choose from and one way to have guests leave wanting to return is to offer them excellent service.

Thank you for the review and we hope you return soon for another issue-free stay. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    512
    328
    148
    78
See reviews for
385
230
125
554
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
richmond
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I expect more for a Hilton hotel. I have always loved the doubletree so was excited to get this through a Priceline bid. The rooms are old and outdated. The carpets were very stained and dirty as well as the windows with the great view of the pentagon. Enjoyed the view but the room was just old with peeling wallpaper and in need of some Sheetrock repair in the bathroom. They did have a flat screen in the room. That was the only plus. The breakfast buffet was ok but the floors were sticky I could not walk. It was like someone dropped a gallon of syrup on the floor. Crystal city was nice though.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for the review. My apologies for the room condition and I hope you will contact me directly so I can obtain the room number. The engineering team would like to inspect the room and make the needed repairs. We are working on updating our rooms as many rooms in our South Tower have been recently renovated.

I am glad you enjoyed the fantastic view and hope you will return soon. Should you return please advise prior to arrival so I can work to make sure you experience a newly renovated room/suite.

It is possible that someone spilled syrup and I am sorry this occurred. Our breakfast staff typically cleans the floor often, but I am sorry if this did not occur when you were in the Cafe.

Thank you again for the review and I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Although I am a Hilton Honors member and prefer Hilton Brand, I scored this hotel for $65 on Priceline.com. Agree with the other travelers that the parking is very pricey. If you don't need your car perhaps there are places nearby that would be cheaper. The pool was very nice after a long hot day at Arlington Cemetery. Also the revolving lounge! Who knew. My son and I went there for happy hour (5-7) and we sat down and had mozzarella sticks ($7) and a drink and enjoyed the panoramic views. We came up again after dinner to see the lights at night. Very nice, do not miss that.

Regarding the internet (which should be free, sorry) I was able to use the code provided in the lobby in my room and avoid having to pay $12.

Our room was very nice, comfortable beds and climate control. I did hear noise from neighbors bathroom very early in the morning, It was loud enough to wake me. The bathrooms are basic, small and my shower head leaked (room 809).

A really nice thing happened on this trip. We were about a mile away after dinner and I did not see any cabs. I went into the lobby of another Hilton and asked the bellman to call me a cab, well it was a Hilton and the driver shuttled me to the door of this Doubletree, free. (I tipped) Class move for Hilton.

Room Tip: Try to get as high as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. There are meters to park out on the surrounding roads, but you need to be lucky to find an open one. Of course, those are an option on the weekend and/or nights when there is no charge. Other than that, I am unaware of any nearby parking areas that would be cheaper. Our parking prices are in line with other area hotels and much cheaper than hotels inside of Washington DC.

I agree, all guests should experience the Skydome. It is so unique and such as great way to see Washington DC. Thank you for providing your room number so I can pass it on to the Director of Engineering for follow up. He also will follow up on the noise from the bathroom of the adjoining room. I am sorry that you encountered these challenges.

That is nice that the Hilton offered to shuttle you here. I am glad you had a positive experience and hope you return soon. Thank you again for the review and as always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very pleased with staff at this hotel. Recently had an exceptional situation that required assistance from the front desk. The Front Office Manager (Ms. Safa Ouahidi) was very easily reached and quickly stepped up to resolve the issue. I travel quite a bit and have learned to expect the unexpected. I value hotels that recognize the challenges faced by travelers and I appreciate when extra efforts are made to insure our comfort and safety.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. While I am sorry that you had an issue I am glad Safa was able to efficiently resolve it. We really appreciate you returning and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations. We much prefer guests let us know when something is not right while he/she is here so we can try to resolve their issue like we did yours.

Thank you again for the review and I hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel has a good location. There is a free shuttle from DCA, and there is a free shuttle to the Pentagon City Metro station. Otherwise, you can walk to the metro station (its about 700 yards away and there is a path that you can take). I was disappointed that we could not check in early and had to carry my laptop computer around D.C. The rooms were older, but clean. It did take a long time to get our room cleaned. We left around 8:00 a.m. to tour D.C. and got back around 4:00 p.m. and our room still had not been cleaned. We went out around 5:00 for dinner and when we came back it was cleaned. We had a very good view of the city and the national mall area. We booked our room on priceline for about $70 per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. Many guests enjoy the complimentary shuttle to Reagan National Airport and to the Pentagon City Metro Station/ Pentagon Fashion Centre Mall. It is nice for our guests to have the option to walk to the Metro/Mall as it is only a 3 block walk (7-10 minutes).

We try to accommodate early check ins, but that is not always possible. The bellman will be happy to store luggage. Laptops can be checked with our security office as we do not allow the bellmen to check these. I am sorry we could offer an early check in to you.

My apologies your room was not cleaned earlier, but I am happy it was done once requested. This hotel has the unique feature of offering fantastic views from many of our guest rooms. To those that are interested in this, be sure to book a view room upon making the reservation.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The free hotel shuttle, and excellent chocolate chip cookies were nice extras (one had to ask for the cookies after initial check-in, but the front desk folks learned we liked the cookies and offered them when they saw us). Parking at $24 and Wi-Fi at $11.50 were more expensive than at other area hotels we'd stayed at and in the case of our corner balcony room on the 7th floor, worked consistently only if we used our laptop on the front desk near the room's front door (elsehwere we often had no signal). The fact that Hilton charges such fees at all of its "upper" hotels does not make the cost more palatable, and we did in fact pay more than we had at a regular Hlton in downtown San Francisco.

Breakfast is not included. The buffet was about $16 and was good. One morning I ordered an "American breakfast" for about $14, but after adding coffe and OJ ended up paying nearly $20. $4 for a cup of coffee?? One did get free coffee in their room. Our room was large. The bathroom was particuarly large, but much of that was tkaen up by a very big bathtub. The shower, on the other hand, was older and very, very small (the smallest we'd encountered in many hotels). The air con system was loud. There were two TVs-- in the living area and in the bedroom. We had a balcony and opened the sliding glass door to go to it the first night, but the door would not close. Although this was late on a Saturday night, two men from maintenance quickly arrived at our room to fix it. We did hear some airplane noise from National Airport some mornings.

The revolving restaurant and bar on top of the North Tower gives great views of DC and parts of Alexandria. On Friday and Saturday nights there is a $10 cover charge, so we ate in the bar downstairs, but we went to the tower room on other nights, both for food and drinks. Curiously, one gets free nuts with drinks in the downstairs bar but not in the revolving lounge (which was nearly empty some nights).

We walked to the Pentagon City Metro station a few times. Took maybe 10 minutes.

Room Tip: To avoid high costs of breakfast, go to Pentagon City mall or elsewhere. Do take advantaghe of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. The shuttle is an excellent amenity for our guests and I am glad you took advantage of it. As you mention, it is nice to have the option of walking to the Metro/Mall as it is only 3 blocks away (7-10 minutes). Cookies are offered at check in and you are correct, if a guest would like more during his/her stay all he/she has to do is ask. We happily supply cookies upon request.

We do check area hotel parking rates to make sure we are in line and find that our charges are in line with similar hotels as the parking rates fall between $21 and $31. The $12.95 internet charge is pretty standard at full service hotels in the area, but there are some at $11.95 and another at $14.95. Again, we are in line with what the area charges. I am sorry you found these prices to be high. The costs for both parking and Internet vary by area and I am sure the Hilton San Francisco is also in line with what hotels in that area charge. I do know that both the Internet and parking charges are higher inside DC than in Crystal City.

The Internet should have worked in both the living room and bedroom of your suite. Did you let us know of this challenge during your stay? It could have been that the wireless access point servicing your suite needed to be reset. My apologies that this was a challenge for you.

We do have packages that include breakfast in the room rate and I encourage you or anyone else to check our website for these deals if this interests you. I am glad you found the suite to be large. The air conditioning unit should not have been loud and I am sorry if this disturbed you and also for the balcony door not closing. However, I am happy this was quickly fixed.

I agree, the Skydome offers fantastic views. The cover charge on Friday & Saturday nights starts for all guests in the Skydome at 9pm. I recommend to guests that want to go to the Skydome, but want to avoid the cover charge, to come up a 8pm as that is plenty of time to enjoy your meal before the cover charge kicks in. Like most dining establishments, the Skydome can be very busy some nights and much quieter on others. I will pass your comment on the barmix to the Food & Beverage Director.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my reviews to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Took my wife on a weekend getaway in DC. Always wanted to try and find a hotel with a great view of the city. We checked in late and went to our room. Opened the windows and walla there it was. Views of the Washington Monument, Jefferson and Lincoln Memorial and the Capitol. Ordered room service in the morning and the staff was very helpful, even callin the room to make sure our meal was OK. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for the review. I am so glad that you had a positive stay experience. The views offered from our view rooms are fantastic and a truly unique feature that this hotel can offer. The Skydome Lounge also offers stunning views, but due to the many windows so much more can be seen. I recommend all of our guests go up there to enjoy the view while having a drink or a meal. I appreciate you mentioning the positive interactions with the staff.

Thank you again for the review and we look forward to your return. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Address: 300 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, VA 22202-2891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Arlington
#27 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#29 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport and located across the Potomac from Washington D.C. just two blocks from the Pentagon and Fashion Centre Shopping Mall. Houses the areas only revolving rooftop restaurant and lounge featuring views of the DC skyline. Amenities include luxurious guest rooms and suites with high speed internet access, fitness center, indoor heated pool, lobby bar, cafe, and fine dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton - Washington Dc - Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Crystal City National Airport
Doubletree Hotel Crystal City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.