We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit this year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Reagan National Airport

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Reagan National Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Reagan National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2020 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Days Inn Crystal City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Summer Getaway for 2
Ranked #31 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Second visit this year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Last spring we stayed here overnight and the room was decent, the shuttle to the airport helpful and a nice breakfast included in the room. And the price was quite reasonable.

We were in the area again and looking for a place to stay close to the airport, so decided to stay here again. And I'm glad we did.

This time we booked a king suite (it was only $20/night more) and we ended up with essentially two rooms-one a bedroom with king bed, chair, TV, microwave and fridge and the other a living room with a desk, power strip (helpful when both of us have phones, ipads and laptops), another TV, sofa, chair, coffee table and a second bath and closet. Together the two rooms are the size of a small apartment.

We'd forgotten about the $20 parking fee (it's DC afternoon). We paid for it one night and then found street parking for the second night. The desk clerk was a bit grumpy when we called to tell him we weren't going to park there the second evening. But when we brought in the parking tag, they were very gracious about taking the second night's parking off the bill (perhaps there was a change of shift). The only other negatives related to the TV and lighting. Last spring my significant other noticed that the screens, although wide screen TVs were a bit blurry (he's used to high definition TV). Unfortunately the TVs were any better this time (I don't watch TV or even own one, so can't comment one way or another on the quality of the TV). What I did notice however, is the lighting in the living room of the suite ins inadequate. It's fine if you're working at the desk (and the desk is quite comfortable to work at), but if you want to sit on the sofa or on the chair and curl up with a book you are out of luck. The desk light is the only light in the room...and some of us like to read instead of watch TV.

There are lots of restaurants in the area and the metro is within easy walking distance.

Given that breakfast was included in the cost of the room last time and not this time we were a bit surprised this morning. So we ordered their continental buffet and had plenty for approximately $8.50/person.

We really appreciated the ease and stability of the free wi-fi and the airport shuttle in the morning.

Room Tip: The king suites facing away from Jefferson Davis Highway are quite pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    214
    94
    27
    28
See reviews for
140
88
55
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre,FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very convenient to the airport and the metro! We arrived around 9AM, called the hotel and they were at the airport in 5 minutes to pick us up. We were able to check-in too as our room was ready, all staff were very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was flawless---very thorough and consistent, no problems. Room was well furnished (sleep number bed!) and quiet. CVS pharmacy, 7-eleven and numerous local eateries were very close, we walked everywhere--never needed a cab. Metro 3 blocks away and they will even drive you there.
Found the laundry room very convenient, didn't use the restaurant or room service but it was nice to know it was available. Pool was green---maybe closed? Looked unappealing so we didn't swim. Otherwise was a really nice hotel and priced reasonably too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I usually land in Reagan National airport and upon landing I call the hotel for the shuttle service. I never had to wait longer than 10 minutes.
The rooms are better and newer than any other hotel of that category in the neighbourhood. The location is quite convenient , restaurants , metro train & Pentagon City shopping center are within a walking distance. The office buildings in Crystal City are also close making it a good hotel if you have some business to do in Arlington/Crystal City. It's not accessible from the underground tunnel network of Crystal City though.
The hotel's lobby is often a bit busy with groups of school kids on a exploration trip in the Washington DC region.
The staff is helpful. Breakfast was standard, I was not a fan, similar of what you can expect in an American hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great location, great service, great value.
My first time in DC and service was very helpful, even let me do a late checkout til 2pm when my morning tour was running late. And they had no problem letting me use the business center and their storage room after I'd already checked out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Five years ago we stayed here on a week long trip to sightsee in DC. It was a good price in a great location-so this Aug 2012, we stayed here again. It is an older hotel, but well kept. Two doubles were comfy, room noise proof for the most part, hotel appears to have been renovated fairly recently. Fridge and microwave in each room, good TV and nice (thought small) bath. Wonderful shampoo-wish I had some to bring home. Front desk and concierege/shuttle people were all very nice and helpful. I used the safe in the office couple times. Best is location, 2 blocks from Metro which zips you to DC in 10 min. Also all the shops and restaurants in the Crystal City Arcade, from Subway to McCormick & Schmick. So two blocks over to Crystal Drive where there is one eatery after another-thai, american, tapas, chinese, seafood, on and on. Shuttle is free both way from airport which is 10 minutes away. Convenience store and mom/pop restaurants also close by. We like it here. Oh yes, nice pool on the roof, little biz center with 2 computers for guests, and fitness center. Full restaurant and bar in the hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor down from the elevator which is in the middle of each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just stayed two nights here while sight seeing in DC. Hotel is clean with a frig and microwave oven, hotel looks up to date, and hotel personnel was professional. Parking was a challenge, but it depends upon the day of week of your visit that you can avoid paying $20 parking fee. There is 12 hours limit parking($10, enforced from 8 am to 6 pm, Mon - Fri.) on the street right behind hotel. I tried it on Friday, and seems to work( purchased the ticket allowing me to park until 6 p.m.). The parking rule is convoluted in DC, and never figure out exactly what will happen if I keep showing the ticket at front windshield after 6pm since the 12 hours limit has reached. Will someone be walking around after 6 pm and give my car a ticket for staying over 12 hours? Would like to know the answer but don't want to challenge that. I ended up just removing the ticket , and it was fine..Writing this review sitting in the Days Inn hotel on Connecticut Ave. near the zoo after visiting the zoo. I like the Radisson much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed at the Radisson for a 3-night stay on a family vacation. Overall it was a nice place. I don't like writing long reviews so here it is in a nutshell:
Positives:
-Price: Used Priceline and got it for about $100. Not a great price, but with a major event in DC at the time, Priceline isn't much less than rack rate.
-Location: Close to the airport, Metro and restaurants. Shuttle was fast for pickup at Reagan. Metro is only a couple blocks away. Crystal City Shops is a great area for eats. More on that later.
-Room: Clean. No real complaints. Lots of pillows. Room WIFI worked 100% of the time. Fridge and microwave in room.
-Staff: Quick (enough) check in and out. Requested rollaway was delivered before I could even get upstairs after requesting it at the front desk. Note: Not much room for a rollaway, but it can be done if you rearrange some furniture.
-Gift Shop: I know, who talks about a gift shop in a review. It's tucked away off the lobby but they had decent items and the prices were no higher than what you'll pay in other places in DC (some things were even cheaper). It's worth a look even if it's the size of a big walk-in closet.

Negatives:
-Staff: Waited a half-hour for rollaway to get delivered after being told it would be there "momentarily". Left for about eight hours and still didn't show up. Second trip to desk had better results (see above). It's only fair to say as an apology, we were not charged for the rollaway. Don't think we got new towels once. Never saw any instructions on what the hotel's sign was for new towels.
-Pool: Too small and it was quite crowded. We did not use it. At least they have one I guess.
-Noise: Get a room away from Jefferson Davis Highway if you can. Even on the 7th floor the road noise was a little annoying.
-Breakfast: Yes, you'l pay dearly. We didn't eat there. Instead we went to the underground Crystal City Shops (very short walking distance) where there is a McDonalds and a Subway (and not at crazy Washington prices). I highly recommend this for your breakfast.
-Room: This is the Washington, DC area so environmentalism is everywhere. As such, you're getting a water-saving shower head. It did the job, but seemed weak at times. Sleep Number Bed. Yeah....I don't see what the hype is about. Not exactly comfortable.

Would I stay there again. Yup. :)

Room Tip: Get one away from Jefferson Davis Highway if you can. Street noise could be heard several floors up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Reagan National Airport

Address: 2020 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Days Inn Crystal City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Radisson Hotel Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Reagan National Airport
Radisson Hotel Arlington
Radisson Arlington
Arlington Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Reagan National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.