We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 2 Mexican places in nova” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guapo's Restaurant

Guapo's Restaurant
4028 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206
703-671-1701
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 680 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Top 2 Mexican places in nova”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I really like this place and. If you want good mexican in nova this is in the top 2. Chevys being the other one.

Great salsa and.chips get you going and I never had a bad entree here. Only complaint I over eat here so easy to do. Its a favorite of mine

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    44
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible Mexican food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went for dinner on a Monday evening after a long day of touring. Beautiful outdoor patio was packed. Restaurant was moderately full but not packed. Seated immediately. We were served ice water and drink orders taken. I only drink tea or water so always worry about flavor but theirs was great. I ordered steak quesadilla and husband got the chimichanga. Complimentary chips and salsa amazing. Chips were hot and fresh. I'm ashamed to admit we had 2 huge bowls of chips. My quesadilla came with big chunks of steak and tons of pure cheddar cheese. The steak had better flavor than most steak restaurants we have been to! Husband loved his chimi. They make sopapillas that are wonderful. As we walked out we noticed the machine that makes tortillas. Also make their salsa and guacamole fresh. Easily the best Mexican meal we have ever had! Glad we went early in week but would wait for their food. It's that good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington. VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“heavy, greasy, noisy.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I really like Latin food but this is a calorie-laden disaster. This tends to be a place where large groups go to eat and drink heavily. There are many better places in nearby Del Rey - like Los Tios.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Starting with the salsa...delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful authentic cuisine, very attentive wait staff. The salsa was very fresh and tasty. We we seated outside and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Located in a nice location with plenty of restaurants to chose from. We will be returning for another visit. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The food and service were both excellent. Finding a place to park was a real problem. It took us about 20 minutes to find an open space. We were just about to give up when a space opened up.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guapo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guapo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.