We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food; relatively reasonable; excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guapo's Restaurant

Guapo's Restaurant
4028 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206
703-671-1701
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 676 restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food; relatively reasonable; excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stopped in on a Sunday night for meal and margaritas. We lucked out as had tried the night before and they were very crowded with a long wait (no reservations taken). Service was attentive and speedy without being pushy. Margaritas were good. The bowl of guacamole was outstanding and plenty to share among three diners as an appetiser. Meals were good standard fare: tacos and chimichanga. Cost for three was $72.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    57
    41
    17
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“REALLY GOOD REASONABLY PRICED FOOD, GREAT SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Guapo's in Shirlington, Arlington, VA, is a really good Mexican restaurant. The ambience is not spectacular but the food and service are! The price tag is very reasonable. We tried this today with another couple. Fajitas and the combination options were very good. The service is attentative to the right degree and friendly. This is a popular restaurant but we did not need reservatiions for lunch. The address is 4028 Campbell Avenue and they can be reached at 703-671-1701. This would be a good restaurant for a dinner before going to the Signature Theater located one block away. Give it a try and if you don't see what you want note that there are about a dozen other restaurants in this restaurant row.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good food, service and margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went on a Friday night and had to wait about 30 minutes for a table - I think this is pretty typical for weekends. We waited on patio as they hadn't yet opened outdoor seating for the season. Bar inside was packed an took me about 15 minutes to get a couple of beers while we waited, but bartenders were friendly.

We went with kids and the noise level was great as nobody noticed them! Might be a difficult venue for folks who don't like loud places. Waitstaff was very efficient and polite. They brought kids menus with crayons and chips and salsa (very good) very quickly. A little slower on drinks - I ordered a top-shelf margarita, and it was delicious. One of my companions really liked the house margarita but I avoided it due to overt sweetness.

Menu was extensive and divided into apps and then different meats and combos. Unlike typical Mexican restaurants, there was no "vegetarian" section. However, the menu had a green leaf next to each vegetarian option. I had an appetizer of plantains (yum) and a veggie combo with a chili relleno, cheese enchilada and spinach enchilada - it was too much with the beans and rice, and if I ever go back, I'll order the 2-combo rather than 3. Food was very good. My son loved his cheese quesadilla and my meat-eating friends seemed to enjoy their meals as well. Everything seemed high quality. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican In the Area/Must have Carne Asada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you do not agree, you clearly have not had their Carne Asada. Easily enough to feed two. Great chips and salsa. Good margaritas - a little pricey, but available in quantities that will make you forget or at least not care how much you paid. Be prepared to wait on Friday and Saturday evenings. Service is usually very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour Margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great spot for happy hour! I consider myself a tequila snob and while I'm not usually a fan of happy hour drinks, I give this restaurant 5 stars for their margaritas! Always packed, service is normally excellent, quick, and friendly.

Typical food for any Mexican restaurant but still along the traditional lines. I enjoy their fajitas, plantains, and fresh salsa!

I miss their buffet which allowed me to try items I may not order directly from a menu.

If you are looking for a great spot for happy hour - give it a try! You'll be hooked like me!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guapo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guapo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.