We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food,excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaleo

Jaleo
2250 Crystal Dr, Ste A, Arlington, VA 22202-3796
703-413-8181
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaleo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 676 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 23rd Street
Transit: We are a 5 minute walk from the Crystal City Metro Station, located on the Yellow and Blue Lines. To reach us, exit the Metro, go left on 18th Street, right on Crystal Drive, and walk 5 blocks to 23rd Street, finding us on the right. Or come halfway up the escalator, left into the Shops, and proceed to 23rd Street, turning left to Crystal Drive.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food,excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our tapas. We've had better, but the food was tasty and consistent. Service was exceptional.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    103
    94
    42
    19
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mililani
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We so enjoyed our first evening at Jaleo that we opted to return for our last evening after a week in the area. The service is excellent and the food is sooooo good. There is an extensive tapas menu that has something to suit every taste. The first night we opted for a cheese plate and fried dates followed by a paella with shrimp. The paella is a very generous size portion and very tasty. The second time we ordered the dates, cheese, and salad followedd by a shrimp dish, beef, and quail.... all were delicious. There is an extensive wine and cocktail list. We opted for sanctuary and were pleased with this choice. Desserts are wonderful too. The chocolate flan melts in your mouth.
For a relaxing and fun evening with superb food, Jaleo is the place to go. One should not be in a hurry here; it is made to savor at a leisurely place although we found the service to be both timely and attentive. We would definitely return... there are many other items on the menu we would like to try.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ta[as ole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We ate here during restaurant week and had a great meal at a great price. We especially liked the gazpacho estilo Algeciras, patatas bravas,gambas al ajillo. But really we loved it all. The service was attentive although there were a few points when the dishes weren't arriving at the right time. Small problem from our point of view.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab. U. Lous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The hanger steak melts in your mouth. The classic sangria is rich, fruity, delicious. Trust your server. That's all you need to know.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food, Average Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been to Jose Andres' tapas bar a number of times and the many dishes we tried tonight did not disappoint. We started with cheese and Jamon samplers before moving on to treats such as; grilled hangar steak, grilled artichokes, calamari, yummy chicken fritters and more. Food comes out quick so you an order plate by plate and repeat what you like the most- we doubled up on hangar steak, chicken and calamari. The tapas are upscale with prices to match, our dinner averaging out to about $50 per person with only 2 alcohol drinks and no dessert. Unfortunately here, the service did not live up to what you expect from a celeb chef or when you are paying more than a couple of c-notes. Our wait person was perfunctory and appeared to have a slight attitude. They had trouble understanding that I wanted still and sparkling water for the table and brought our daughter a Sprite even though she clearly said Coke. Neither of our soft drinkers were ever asked if they wanted another nor was my wife's iced tea refilled. I was offered only one more Sangria, when I easily would have gone 1 or 2 more if asked. Finally one of our fav reorders was forgotten and something we didn't order brought to the table, we refused this but were charged anyway- when I asked the charge be removed, the servers disdain wasn't even hidden. By the time we were ready for dessert, we wanted to get it elsewhere- hard to pin it down but the service just wasn't "on" . Don't skip Jaleo because of this review, the food overides that disappointment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaleo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.