We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaleo

Jaleo
2250 Crystal Dr, Ste A, Arlington, VA 22202-3796
703-413-8181
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaleo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 703 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 23rd Street
Transit: We are a 5 minute walk from the Crystal City Metro Station, located on the Yellow and Blue Lines. To reach us, exit the Metro, go left on 18th Street, right on Crystal Drive, and walk 5 blocks to 23rd Street, finding us on the right. Or come halfway up the escalator, left into the Shops, and proceed to 23rd Street, turning left to Crystal Drive.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“excellent tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have been here several times and it has been excellent every time. Our server was friendly and informative and we were seated quickly. Virtually everything we tried (about 18 different dishes) was at least good, and some were outstanding (the marinated chicken, chicken fritters, cheese board, flamenquines). The shrimp in garlic sauce was a bit disappointing. The atmosphere was comfortable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    120
    49
    20
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional tapas. Front of the house needs training.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our first impression was a little rocky. We were strolling along the sidewalk about close to 11:00 AM. The posted menu was interesting. We sat down at one of the outside tables to wait until they opened. A server came outside and with no other greeting said "We're not ready. We don't open until 11:30." It was a lovely day, and we had no schedule to keep, but she lost my husband right there. We went down the street and had a Bison Burger. I couldn't get that menu out of my mind, and persuaded my husband to go back that night. The greeting that evening was a little warmer. My husband, who was already a little put out, was again put off by the prices, but after a couple of bites, he decided it was a great value. He called the Spanish black-footed, acorn-fed pig "pork butter." The tuna-potato salad was extraordinary flavor from ordinary ingredients. At first I thought we might have been a little hard on the servers, but we went to another restaurant from the same chef in DC the next day. The front and back of the house both were phenomenal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tasty Tapas, Appealing Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I took my college age son to Jaleo as a reward for finishing the semester. While I have fairly simple food tastes in general, I was looking forward to the variety of dishes you can sample at this well known tapas restaurant. We went on a weeknight and arrived at 6:30 pm. There were only two of us and we were seated right away. However, by the time our food came, there was a wait.

We ordered dishes featuring scallops, shrimp, sausage, mushrooms and potatoes. Everything was well prepared and tasty. The service was attentive and timely. The atmosphere is very nice. Big windows, high ceilings and wonderful art work take you to Spain for the evening. My one complaint is that it is a fairly pricey meal. I think they do have happy hour deals, so you may want to stop in for drink and a tapa during this time of day.

If you like tapas and don't mind spending a few dollars, you can't go wrong with Jaleo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just WOW! Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tried the chef's choice, reasonable price, had to stop counting courses. We received a meat plate, a cheese plate, bread and salad, then were brought to the main dishes, we tried everything they brought but were so full by dessert we had to stop them from bringing the second round. All the Tapas were excellent in themselves.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Alright food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to Jaleo for late lunch and ordered the typical tapas, and we where a bit disappointed with the food. Not really authentic taste or texture, seems to be more of marketing than anything. Them place is alright but there is definitely a better Spanish restaurant in downtown DC that will blow this one out of the water.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaleo also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Jaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaleo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.