We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best. Not the worst.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2480 South Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22206-2576   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
mdaby3
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not the best. Not the worst.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The best thing I can say about this place was the breakfast was substantial. The coffee was terrible (and I can suffer through some bad coffee!), but the food (scrambled eggs, all kinds of toast (and bagels and English muffins), potatoes, bacon or sausage (depending on the day), waffles, cereal, fruit, juices, yogurt was all pretty good and well stocked. .
The room was fine--nothing special. Our room had an extra sink in the bath/shower.toilet room. The location is less than ideal. They have a van that takes you to and from the airport and the metro station (Pentagon City station, about 10 minute drive). That would be fine, except the van is always full, always late ("Oh yes, he'll be right back!") and generally just not as usable as they make it sound. Plan for an extra 30 minutes coming and going. We used Uber to get around more easily. The front desk personnel were not very helpful with any questions or concerns. Keep in mind that at this price you get a lot of school trips and such. And then keep in mind that a horde of teenagers have no sense of what's appropriate at midnight or 6am. I know that's not the hotel's fault but we were sure glad to see them go!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tad S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for writing a review of your experience here. We always welcome comments from our guests perspective. It's the best way to improve our service!
We are adding some fresh new items to our breakfast rotation and have added an additional shuttle and driver during busy peak morning and evening hours. Please come see us again (maybe not during school trip season!)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    166
    148
    99
    85
See reviews for
220
123
46
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is a bit tired, but is so well located with shuttle service to the metro so that it really doesn't matter. It is basic with better than average shuttle service, above average BW breakfast, comfortable bed. Very good rates in an extremely high-rent district.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tad S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your comments! We are lucky to be in such close proximity to downtown Washington DC and the National Mall and are pleased to offer the shuttle service. We are beginning our exterior updates with fresh paint in a new color palette and new exterior lighting. We invite you back to see our fresh new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Arrived and my room wasn't ready.
45 minutes later my room was ready. When opening the door, a large overpowering smell of perfume filled the room. The smell was so strong I had to leave the door open for an hour. My sink which supposedly had just been washed had dried blood stains in it. Great.

The bed was comfortable.

Everyday the room smelled of strong perfume, I didn't enjoy this place at all.

Also tour buses parked in front o my room, which normally would be a reason to complain, but turning the bus on and letting it run for 20-30 minutes at 22:30 at night is not fun especially when you are sleeping.

The front desk staff was nice, but that doesn't make my experience at this hotel a pleasurable one.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tad S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not pleased with the condition of your room at check in. Our hope is to provide a clean, comfortable room for every guest.
Unfortunately your room was located near the tour buses. During the busy spring months we have a lot of tour groups coming to see the sights of Washington DC. I hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Short on employees, it's a stop for students on bus trips going to DC if you enjoy 180 screaming teenagers you'll love the place. it appears they're attempting to rehab some of the rooms but it definitely needs a good clean up and new paint. the average employee actually tried to help but they were just not enough to do the job correctly.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tad S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are a very popular location for groups of all kinds based on our convenient location and large rooms. I'm sorry that the group we had here during your stay seemed loud and unruly.
You may be interested to know that we are beginning our exterior updates this week, with fresh paint, new lighting and enhanced landscaping.
I hope you will consider coming back and giving us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent clean and updated room. ROOMY!!!! There is a pool in the summer....work out room and a restaurant at the comfort inn next door which is excellent! Convenient for Arlington and the airport...shuttles provided. Very nice.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tad S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsha, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is nothing good to say about this property. It was dirty, noisy, lacking in basic necessities such as a working telephone and internet. Staff could not be bothered to correct any of the problems I encountered.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tad S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
I am sorry that you encountered issues while visiting our hotel. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly at 703.979.4400.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I booked the Best Western due to its good reputation in our home country. Big mistake. Upon check in we were greeted by a lone, friendly receptionist who appeared to be juggling 500 tasks at once. This hotel needs to look after its staff by putting at least two people on the front desk. Walking to our hotel, we had to pass a giant dirty to well bin and we could not fit pass with our bags. We asked the cleaner to kindly move it aside and she just stared at us. My partner gestured helping her move it and she huffed. So he started squeezing through the small gap and finally she moved it about an inch. Also, we were often woken up early to the housekeeping shouting at each other and laughing across the courtyard. Not professional. Our room was a disaster. There were spots of blood on the hand basin. The hair dryer did not work. The fridge was leaking water. There was a grubby towel. Our phone did not dial out and the Internet and coffee machine in the reception appeared to be out for the majority of our stay. The area was pretty shady and the walk to the closest supermarket is not recommended as u will pass a lot of shady characters.

Breakfast was bedlam. It was shared with people staying at the comfort Inn. People literally argued for food and pushed and shoved. I overheard one man call a small child a 'fat animal' because he was serving himself lots of bacon. There were a number of different ethnic groups and my partner was disgusted by some of the ethnic slurs we heard. One man appeared to be racially abusing another man in front of a handful of people. We decided not to eat for the remainder of the trip in the breakfast room

I can only say that the two good things about this hotel was the kind, hard hard working gentleman on reception (an asset to their business) and the Half hour shuttle service.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tad S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I'm sorry you were unhappy with your experience, but appreciate the feedback. We typically have at least two agents at our desk, however they do take breaks during their shift. Our housekeeping staff is usually very friendly and accommodating. I will speak with the Manager to ensure we are putting our guests first.
I can understand your point of view regarding remarks you heard over breakfast, but our staff is welcoming to people of all backgrounds even if all of our guests are not.
If you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me at 703.979.4400.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport

Address: 2480 South Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22206-2576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Pentagon-Reagan Airport is a newly renovated, full-service Arlington, Virginia hotel featuring spacious rooms and suites, meeting space, a business center, a restaurant, shuttle service to Ronald Reagan Airport and to Pentagon City Metro Station between 6:00 AM to 10:00 PM everyday- just minutes from Washington, DC and the Pentagon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pentagon Hotel Arlington
Best Western Hotel Pentagon
Arlington Best Western
Best Western Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.