We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Buffet - Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Tavern

Liberty Tavern
3195 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-4420
703-465-9360
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Liberty Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 692 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Irving Street
Transit: On the corner of Wilson Boulevard and Irving Street in Arlington, The Liberty Tavern is easily accessible from downtown DC, Route 66, Route 395, and is across the street from the Clarendon Metro Station.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Buffet - Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We ate here for brunch on Thanksgiving Day. It was one of the best Thanksgiving Day Buffets I have had. Lots of variety in the food and since it was a small restaurant, they kept replenishing the foods so they maintained their freshness. Enjoyed turkey and dressing, fruits, large cocktail shrimp, eggs, bacon, muffins, salad, a good mix of healthy and non-healthy foods. I chose not to have any desserts but they looked good as well. Only issue was cramped seating. I reserved on open table for 11:00 and when we arrived the hostess said our time was 11:30 and we would have to wait (which was wrong - I checked) but the manager in charge, said they would seat us right away which they did. Will go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    82
    35
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Cheese Selections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were finally successful in getting a group reservation to Liberty Tavern (what a popular place!). The beer and wine offerings were plentiful and being visited by both the sommelier and beer manager was a plus - really added insight to our dining. I enjoyed the short ribs (cooked 48 hours) and root vegetables (never thought I'd say that). Others in our group worked through a large portion of the seasonal menu. All agreed that the cheese course we started with was the biggest hit. Everything was very good, though the dumplings that came with the trout and the duck fat onion rings fell a bit short of expectations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Great Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We go routinely to the Liberty Tavern for their excellent Sunday brunch. Always lots of great choices that please the adults and children. Daytime lunches are fun but uneven. The burger and beer is a great deal. I tried the fish tacos and was very disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Give me Liberty, or give me beer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great place for a group -- there were 9 of us the Saturday after Thanksgiving (we traditionally get together then and it's often hard to find a place that will let us make a reservation and that's big enough to give us a table where we can talk with each other). This place met all our requirements, along with wonderful wine and beer selections; and great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A foodie delight in a tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very bustling and noisy like most taverns, but the food is exceptional. While there is noway to discover this entree unless you know the staff, these guys have an Italian chef who really knows his home made pasta. so order pasta. Mussels are also a must. Everything on the menu is local and prepared by the chefs fresh. Wine list is passable. I have dined here at least 15-20 times so it was not a one shot deal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.