We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican in NOVA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina Mexicana

Cantina Mexicana
515 South 23rd Street, Arlington, VA
703-979-7033
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 680 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in NOVA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

When I used to live in Crystal City this was my go to place for good Mexican. Truth be told... I've been known to drive back to CC from Reston just to eat here since it is so yummy. The servers and owner are also super friendly. Cantina Mexicana is located in a super cute neighborhood with a lot of fun little restaurants and bars on 23rd street.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    30
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Definitely worth it! Started off with delicious majitos and had fajitas to eat. Yum, yum. I definitely recommend. Service was phenomenal. Some of the best Mexican food that I have ever had.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Damn good fajitas!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stopped here on a Saturday afternoon after being at the mall and before traveling on the plane. We ordered the fajitas for two; shrimp and steak. The dishes were excellent!! Service was very good. A little pricey.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable food and drinks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Regular customer. Food is very good and margaritas are a house blend. Servers are friendly and it is a well liked neighborhood place. It can get loud at times and early evening dining can be crowded but the owners are very accommodating.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fast service, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were originally headed to Memphis Barbecue, but it was closed, so we were looking for an alternative. An employee was waving in people from the street and talking about their specials so we gave it a try. Food was ok, but they didn't have tortilla soup!! Drats!
Service was fast and the margaritas were good, so you probably can't go wrong!
Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantina Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.