We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at budget prices (on the weekend)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Arlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Arlington to your Saves list
Le Meridien Arlington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1121 N 19th Street, North Arlington, Arlington, VA 22209 (Formerly Palomar Arlington, a Kimpton Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naugatuck, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury at budget prices (on the weekend)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here for a recent quick getaway to DC on Sat/Sun nights. It was very reasonably priced on the weekend. The hotel was a bit difficult to find since it shares a building with a expensive condos and so the hotel tries to keep a low profile. For the weekend, self-parking was $12 a day and valet was $18 (plus tips of course). The parking garage is really set up for valet though, with most of the cars triple-parked, and if you self-park, they may require you to leave a key with the valet anyways in case they need to move your car.

The lobby for the hotel is on the 4th floor and there is no direct elevator to the rooms. And no direct elevator from the parking garage to the lobby. So if you self-park, that is three elevator rides to get from car to room. Luckily we just parked when we arrived and didn't go back to the car, so it wasn't a problem.

The rooms are nice and modern as expected. Bedding is fine, there is a safe and a desk with power outlets, and an iPhone dock. The bathroom door is a bit odd, sliding into the wall and not having any kind of lock. The showerhead was rain-style and lots of hot water, although I prefer more pressure. The pump bottles for shower gel/shampoo/conditioner seem a bit chintzy for this level of hotel, although the products were quite nice with asian fragrances.

The staff was very nice. The front desk gave very helpful restaurant advice and directions, and everyone we ran into greeted us kindly. Only knock was that we had to go back and ask for our included breakfast coupons, and I would expect that to be handled during check-in.

As mentioned, we used a AAA rate to get included full breakfasts, which were quite nice. On the weekend it was a full buffet, and on Monday morning it was ala carte service with the free breakfast being a standard American eggs + meat breakfast. They were very nice and accommodating of my vegetarian girlfriend and made her a mushroom omelette as a substitute, which we really appreciated.

The location of the hotel was pretty great. The main shopping street in Georgetown really is just a 10-15 minute walk across the bridge. The Circulator bus also runs from Arlington into Georgetown if the walk is too much. The Metro station is indeed right across the street from the hotel, although it's kind of diagonal and up a ways so it ends up being a five minute walk. Staying in Georgetown proper would have other trade-offs like no close Metro, so this Arlingon location is a good compromise.

I would definitely stay here again, although at full weekday prices there may be better options in DC proper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan b, Manager at Le Meridien Arlington, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Smackfu,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback! We are all excited to hear that you enjoyed your weekend getaway at the Le Meridien Arlington and we exceeded your expectations. We look forward having you again soon.


Thank you,

Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    118
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
69
87
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Annoys me when +$300 hotels also insist on a $10 daily charge for in-room wifi. Later in the review I'll explain how to beat that system.

I enjoyed my 4 night stay at this hotel. The fittings are nice, plush. The bed very very comfortable and the pillows exceptional.

I didn't try any of the inhouse dining options. Instead I was eating out across the road which had a range of Chop't, Cosi, Starbucks, McD and many more.

The room annoyed me a little. To get the lights to work, requires a visit to each light fitting. There is no master switch, or at least, not that I could find.

The bathroom has quite a small sink. The sink area does not have an immediate area at which to place toiletries. See photo. Instead they have a separate free standing arrangement for hair dryer, towels, washers and cups.

The room servicing was inconsistent. Some days they would forget to replace my coffee bags, other days the bed making would be mediocre and another day they forgot to replace the soap at the sink. All minor things by themselves, just annoying.

Now, if you would like free wifi at this venue, I suggest you follow this proven method which worked for my mobile device and my laptop.

a) Go to Hotel lobby where they actually do have free hotel wifi. Access that hotspot (Lemeridian_lobby), accept the terms and conditions. Access a webpage or service.

b) Catch the lift back to your floor.

c) Immediately upon exiting the lift, change to the hotspot (lemeridian) for the rooms. Reload a webpage.

d) at this stage, I was granted access to the same services as on the free lobby wifi.

I hope that works for you too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel. EXCELLENT service. Great rooms, quiet. Complimentary wine in early evening and coffee, a nice touch! (could add tea though, for us tea drinkers :-) Go for it! Didn't realize this is now part of Starwood so it makes me think about getting involved in the program. The room service "delivery charge" and 18% gratuity included is a bit much, but other than that, it's great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I've been staying at the hotel now known as Le Meridien for quite a while, since opened as a Kimpton. I'm pleased to say that it has retained the standards set by Kimpton (although it lacks the wine hour from 5-6pm...). The rooms are universally excellent, though if you care about having a view do ask for a Georgetown or river-side room on one of the higher floors. It's very easy to get to from either National or Dulles airport - about $20 cab from the former, $55 from the latter. For decent food in the area you have to walk up to Courthouse or, better still, Clarendon; or go the other way across the river into Georgetown. The food in the hotel restaurant and room service is of a decent standard, and the bar does the job nicely.

There is a small gym which has most of the equipment most people need, and it's rarely busy.

As a tourist, the location is ok -- Rosslyn metro lets you get anywhere fast and it's no more than 5 minutes from the hotel. It can sometimes be a hassle to get a cab, but the hotel can help you with that.

My only gripe is the extra charge for in-room wifi -- but that's hardly unique to this hotel (sneaky tip: log into the wifi in the lobby then carry your phone/laptop to your room without closing it -- about 2/3 of the time the signal will hold).

On balance, in my opinion Le Meridien remains the best hotel in Rosslyn, but then again it really only faces competition from the Hyatt (I remain fond of the nearby Marriott, but that's mostly down to the excellent staff in its bar).

Room Tip: High floor, river side (the hotel calls it the Georgetown side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here in the summer during a tour of several cities in the USA. The room had the "wow" factor as soon as we opened the door, a very plush room awaited us. It was spacious and comfortable and very clean. The location was ideal for walking into Georgetown and the Roslyn Metro was just a few blocks away. The cost of our stay was fantastic and a fraction of the price for a hotel in DC. If you are staying in the DC area for a few days I would highly recommend this hotel, the metro link is conveniently placed to take you not only into DC but also Arlington Cemetry and the Pentagon Mall. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We got two rooms on a Friday night as we had a seminar nearby. Even though the hotel was empty, I got a room right in front of the elevator; 90% of the view was a brick wall. Because of that-no cell service. Some airplane noise, lots of hallway noise. Plastic cups in lieu of glasses. Shampoo in large containers attached to the wall- like a gym. Cleaners forgot to set the alarm clock, and I forgot to check it- it went off at 6am. Colleague awakened at 415am by an ambulance outside. Lobby nice, cool-looking but very uncomfortable seating. On the positive side- wine offered in the lobby, excellent temperature control.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor, away from elevator, not a connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Did not realize that this property is now part of the Starwood Hotels and I was pleasantly surprised to get a great rate and upgraded room due to my status. Hotel is a short walk from the Roslyn metro station as well as to Georgetown over the Key Bridge.

Rooms are nicely appointed and spacious and it was a fraction of the cost compared to DC prices even for a weekend.

Staff was great to deal with and very accommodating as well as very customer-service oriented.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms facing the river have nice views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Arlington

Address: 1121 N 19th Street, North Arlington, Arlington, VA 22209 (Formerly Palomar Arlington, a Kimpton Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
#26 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Arlington 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among top destinations in the Washington, D.C. region, Le Méridien Arlington is a stylish boutique hotel close to numerous restaurants and shopping options for our guests. We are excited to announce our new, contemporary chic style restaurant and lounge coming this March! Between the dates of January 13th to March 14th we will have our formal restaurant and lounge closed to carry out some beautiful refinements in the name of Méridien! We do not anticipate any disruption to services as the hotel has taken alternative measures to provide you a great experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Arlington Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.