We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Arlington

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Arlington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Arlington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1121 N 19th Street, North Arlington, Arlington, VA 22209 (Formerly Palomar Arlington, a Kimpton Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent for a business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I've been staying at the hotel now known as Le Meridien for quite a while, since opened as a Kimpton. I'm pleased to say that it has retained the standards set by Kimpton (although it lacks the wine hour from 5-6pm...). The rooms are universally excellent, though if you care about having a view do ask for a Georgetown or river-side room on one of the higher floors. It's very easy to get to from either National or Dulles airport - about $20 cab from the former, $55 from the latter. For decent food in the area you have to walk up to Courthouse or, better still, Clarendon; or go the other way across the river into Georgetown. The food in the hotel restaurant and room service is of a decent standard, and the bar does the job nicely.

There is a small gym which has most of the equipment most people need, and it's rarely busy.

As a tourist, the location is ok -- Rosslyn metro lets you get anywhere fast and it's no more than 5 minutes from the hotel. It can sometimes be a hassle to get a cab, but the hotel can help you with that.

My only gripe is the extra charge for in-room wifi -- but that's hardly unique to this hotel (sneaky tip: log into the wifi in the lobby then carry your phone/laptop to your room without closing it -- about 2/3 of the time the signal will hold).

On balance, in my opinion Le Meridien remains the best hotel in Rosslyn, but then again it really only faces competition from the Hyatt (I remain fond of the nearby Marriott, but that's mostly down to the excellent staff in its bar).

Room Tip: High floor, river side (the hotel calls it the Georgetown side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    102
    36
    15
    8
See reviews for
62
76
20
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here in the summer during a tour of several cities in the USA. The room had the "wow" factor as soon as we opened the door, a very plush room awaited us. It was spacious and comfortable and very clean. The location was ideal for walking into Georgetown and the Roslyn Metro was just a few blocks away. The cost of our stay was fantastic and a fraction of the price for a hotel in DC. If you are staying in the DC area for a few days I would highly recommend this hotel, the metro link is conveniently placed to take you not only into DC but also Arlington Cemetry and the Pentagon Mall. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We got two rooms on a Friday night as we had a seminar nearby. Even though the hotel was empty, I got a room right in front of the elevator; 90% of the view was a brick wall. Because of that-no cell service. Some airplane noise, lots of hallway noise. Plastic cups in lieu of glasses. Shampoo in large containers attached to the wall- like a gym. Cleaners forgot to set the alarm clock, and I forgot to check it- it went off at 6am. Colleague awakened at 415am by an ambulance outside. Lobby nice, cool-looking but very uncomfortable seating. On the positive side- wine offered in the lobby, excellent temperature control.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor, away from elevator, not a connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Did not realize that this property is now part of the Starwood Hotels and I was pleasantly surprised to get a great rate and upgraded room due to my status. Hotel is a short walk from the Roslyn metro station as well as to Georgetown over the Key Bridge.

Rooms are nicely appointed and spacious and it was a fraction of the cost compared to DC prices even for a weekend.

Staff was great to deal with and very accommodating as well as very customer-service oriented.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms facing the river have nice views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

So, it was great to stay at this hotel, while attending a seminar in DC. The location is just over the Key Bridge from Georgetown and my room was much bigger that I thought. Which was a pleasant surprise! You are blocks away from the Metro and walking 10 minutes from GT. Service was good and food was very homey. It is a great place to stay and sometimes, by being just over the bride from DC, you might get good prices!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I met a friend for a drink in the Amuse (?) Lounge here one evening. It's up on the 4th floor so I got a bit confused at first. But we had a nice spot by the fireplace and the wait service was excellent and polite. I had a great martini and my friend had a great whisky, everything brought the way we wanted it. I also ordered the American Burger which was very tasty and came with fries and a salad. This place is on the pricey side but obviously we're paying for the trendy classy decor (paintings, sculptures and ornate surfaces everywhere). It is wheelchair accessible but a bit hard to find your way around in although all staff were helpful. Cabs pull into the entrance or can be called by the doorman, and that's always handy when you've had a drink or two or three.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room on the upper floor looking over the river into Georgetown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It seems no matter what country you visit Le Meridien provides a refreshing experience. Admittedly, the parking garage is confusing, but for $10 a night (weekend) we can live with some confusion. The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Our room was delightfully decorated, although a tad small by American standards. The room was clean, well appointed and the toiletries had the familiar appealing Le Meridien scent. The staff in the lounge and the restaurant (for breakfast buffet) was most accommodating. We were briefly concerned about having a room next to the elevator, but since we were on the top floor we never noticed any noise and slept peacefully. For a morning stroll we took a short walk to see the Iwo Jima Memorial, U. S. Marine Corps War Memorial, a must if you are in the area. Without doubt we will return to Le Meridien, Arlington.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan b, Manager at Le Meridien Arlington, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Lyn1950,

Thank you so much for your feedback! Very happy to know that we exceeded all your expectations. Thank you for staying at the Le Meridien Arlington, please visit us again soon.


Thank you,

Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Arlington

Address: 1121 N 19th Street, North Arlington, Arlington, VA 22209 (Formerly Palomar Arlington, a Kimpton Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#22 Business Hotel in Arlington
#26 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Arlington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among top destinations in the Washington, D.C. region, Le Méridien Arlington is a stylish boutique hotel close to numerous restaurants and shopping options for our guests. We are excited to announce our new, contemporary chic style restaurant and lounge coming this March! Between the dates of January 13th to March 14th we will have our formal restaurant and lounge closed to carry out some beautiful refinements in the name of Méridien! We do not anticipate any disruption to services as the hotel has taken alternative measures to provide you a great experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Le Meridien Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Arlington Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.