We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Arlington

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com LeMeridien.com
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Arlington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1121 N 19th Street, North Arlington, Arlington, VA 22209 (Formerly Palomar Arlington, a Kimpton Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 48 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alexandria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Yes, the hotel is nice no doubt about that but service is not up to par. Customer service is really mediocre.

For a hotel with it's star rating, I feel like staff should go out of their way to assist their customers. If you are asking staff for assistance they help but also give you the impression they are busy and it appears as if you are bothering them…almost makes you feel like they are looking down on you.

The night I stayed was a rainy/stormy period in VA & of course I did not travel w/an umbrella…who does really? I asked Front Desk and they didn't have any and didn't really care any further…they were just like, sorry we are out of umbrellas…no suggestions etc. Maybe management should consider having umbrellas in guest rooms…hotels I've stayed at have this service available.

My point is, if you buy or pay for luxury, the product should not only speak for it self but service you rec'v should also be astonishing. Staff should get re-trained on 'hospitality service.'

All in all, I enjoyed my stay for the one night…the rooms are lovely…just get a bigger room. Spent my money at a nicer boutique hotel the next few nights I was in N. VA.

Room Tip: The rooms can be small, so make sure you get a spacious room. And don't expect 4 star service fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    95
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
54
65
19
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and wanted to visit the Washington, D.C. area for a short 4 day visit and we found the hotel through our starwood preferred guest hotel listings and could not be any happier with our choice! Upon arrival we were provided with a map of the area and some suggestions as to were to visit during our stay. The hotel is definitely an upscale hotel that is beautifully decorated.

Location: In the Rosslyn area, which is centrally located just across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants and most important to the Metrorail. The closeness to the metrorail is a must especially for those who are visiting without a car!

Rooms: Our room was immaculate. The pillows were very comfortable, the sheets were clean, the bathrooms were well kept. *One downside was the lack of counter space in the bathrooms.

Service: The hotel has a green choice option in which you can opt out receiving room service and instead receive a $10 voucher or 500 starwood points. We choice the voucher and on the morning of checkout we just ordered breakfast from their restaurant Amuse. Check-in and Check-out were easy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan b, Manager at Le Meridien Arlington, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Ms. Belinda M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. Please visit us again next time you or your family is in town.


Thank you,


Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Can't add much to the 5-star reviews. Everything was as stated. Great location, service and room. Close to metro, desk staff was wonderful (Mohammed) and room was clean (got upgraded), and overlooked the Potomac. Elevators were very fast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while visiting friends in Reston, VA. We booked through kayak and paid $103/night + tax, which was less than the Starwood website.

We arrived at the hotel at 1am. We were received warmly by Will when we checked in and given a room on a high floor since we are SPG members. The decor of the hotel is attractive, the rooms are comfortable, and the hallways are quiet.

We parked in the self-parking garage. The parking garage is shared with an apartment/condo building, so many of the spaces were marked for residents. However, we were able to find a space each time, although they are quite tight/narrow. I believe parking was $12/night.

Our only complaint was the two mornings when we called for room service, no one answered. The front desk said they would have room service call us back. The first time, it was 10-15 min later. The second time, it was only 5 min later. For one of our orders, we ordered a pot of coffee and no coffee mugs were included. The good part about their room service was it was delivered promptly (<30 min wait) and the food was average to above average.

We liked the ambiance of the hotel and would return if staying in the area in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The service at this hotel is exceptional! From our waitress Heather at Amuse to Mohamed the manager, we received A+ service! The location is very convenient from the Rosslyn metro. Just a few minute walk to the hotel. They offer a complementary wine service every evening. A welcome respite after a long hot day. The only thing keeping me from giving it a perfect score is we had some problems with the hot water in our room. If I were ever to visit the DC area again, I will be sure to stay at the Le Meridien Arlington.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I grabbed a Starpicks deal for this hotel from the spg.com website for $103/night. Le Meridien is a 20 minute walk into Georgetown and 2 blocks from Orange Line Metro access (Rosslyn Station) to the rest of DC. The bed was very comfortable, as expected for a Starwood Hotel. I was very happy with this stay.

Other Tips:
-You get 500 Starpoints per night that you waive the bedmaking service, which is a huge bonus.
-Check your reservation confirmation for a coupon for the restaurant (Amuse), which is perfect for grabbing breakfast before your start your day.
-There are plenty of copies of the major newspapers available at the bell desk on the ground floor and in the lounge area near reception on the 4th floor.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the National Cathedral in DC, but they are near the elevator, so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Maryland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

As a former Kimpton hotel, Le Meridien has maintained the pet-friendly status that they had before. No deposits and no weight limits. This was great because we were in town for a wedding and needed to bring our two large dogs. The hotel's lobby is several floors up and then the elevators are split between the hotel and condominiums. The rooms are upscale - stylish, upscale, simple and comfortable. There are parks close by to walk dogs. I recommend this place, even if you don't have a dog.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Arlington

Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Arlington
Hotel Palomar Arlington Kimpton
Address: 1121 N 19th Street, North Arlington, Arlington, VA 22209 (Formerly Palomar Arlington, a Kimpton Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#21 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#24 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Arlington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among top destinations in the Washington, D.C. region, Le Méridien Arlington is a stylish boutique hotel close to numerous restaurants and shopping options for our guests. We are excited to announce our new, contemporary chic style restaurant and lounge coming this March! Between the dates of January 13th to March 14th we will have our formal restaurant and lounge closed to carry out some beautiful refinements in the name of Méridien! We do not anticipate any disruption to services as the hotel has taken alternative measures to provide you a great experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Arlington to your Saves list