We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good - Very Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City

Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City
2301 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Legal Sea Foods - Crystal City)
703-415-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 700 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South 23rd Street
Transit: Crystal City (Yellow Line) Metro station.
Description: For all those who love seafood in Crystal City, the world really can be your oyster. Choose from among the 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish we serve simply prepared, 365 days a year.
latrobe
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very Good - Very Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The selections were varied but to my wallet, more expensive for a place so close to the water. I was intrigued by the seaweed salad but concentrated on the whole lobster. Market price was up compared to home and we tried soft-shell clams fr the first time. Not a great experience for us. We'll stick with hard shelled ones - more taste and not "squishey" as the wife said.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    169
    55
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I realize things in this area are more expensive than other parts of the country, but I thought they were extremely overpriced. Wouldn't go there again. Food was a good temp and tasted okay, but for the price, I expected more. Waiter was very good. It was to crowded and small.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Busy seafood restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Visited recently with a colleague. Waited about 30 minutes for a table standing in the bar area but very aware that we we crowding diners at the nearby tables - even more aware of the crowd around waiting for tables when we got one of the tables opposite the bar rather than in the main restaurant ! Service as good and friendly. The seafood was just OK - certainly not the best seafood I had ever had but I was maybe expecting a lot more given Legal Seafoods reputation and prices. I was really looking forward to visiting Legal Seafoods, but now that I have, I am not sure it lived up to expectations. Perhaps it is just this one? I will give it another go in Boston and let you know.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food; outstanding service; great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Reservations are recommended at peak times, and we didn't have them. However, in spite of being told we would need to wait 30-35 minutes upon check in, we needed to wait only 10 before being seated. The wait staff, with the manager working the floor as back-up, never missed a beat. They successfully kept every glass full, every table clean, and did it without seeming obtrusive. The food was to Legal Seafood's high standards, and we left both satisfied and stuffed. The only downside to the evening was we had the table by the door (one reason why reservations are suggested), and the tight confines at that point in the restaurant was a little uncomfortable for those seated with their back to the inbound and outbound customers. Nonetheless, a great dinner was had by all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great service and fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The food was good and not too pricey. It was a lot nicer than what I expected by the fiew from the outside. The portions were big and they had cloth napkins too. We really enjoyed it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City also viewed

 

Been to Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.