We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good - Very Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City

Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City
2301 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3820 (Formerly Legal Sea Foods - Crystal City)
+1 703-415-1200
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 654 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South 23rd Street
Transit: Crystal City (Yellow Line) Metro station.
Description: For all those who love seafood in Crystal City, the world really can be your oyster. Choose from among the 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish we serve simply prepared, 365 days a year. In season, our patio seating is a lure for those who choose the fresh seafood and fresh air combo.
latrobe
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very Good - Very Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The selections were varied but to my wallet, more expensive for a place so close to the water. I was intrigued by the seaweed salad but concentrated on the whole lobster. Market price was up compared to home and we tried soft-shell clams fr the first time. Not a great experience for us. We'll stick with hard shelled ones - more taste and not "squishey" as the wife said.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    133
    121
    41
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I realize things in this area are more expensive than other parts of the country, but I thought they were extremely overpriced. Wouldn't go there again. Food was a good temp and tasted okay, but for the price, I expected more. Waiter was very good. It was to crowded and small.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Busy seafood restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Visited recently with a colleague. Waited about 30 minutes for a table standing in the bar area but very aware that we we crowding diners at the nearby tables - even more aware of the crowd around waiting for tables when we got one of the tables opposite the bar rather than in the main restaurant ! Service as good and friendly. The seafood was just OK - certainly not the best seafood I had ever had but I was maybe expecting a lot more given Legal Seafoods reputation and prices. I was really looking forward to visiting Legal Seafoods, but now that I have, I am not sure it lived up to expectations. Perhaps it is just this one? I will give it another go in Boston and let you know.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food; outstanding service; great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Reservations are recommended at peak times, and we didn't have them. However, in spite of being told we would need to wait 30-35 minutes upon check in, we needed to wait only 10 before being seated. The wait staff, with the manager working the floor as back-up, never missed a beat. They successfully kept every glass full, every table clean, and did it without seeming obtrusive. The food was to Legal Seafood's high standards, and we left both satisfied and stuffed. The only downside to the evening was we had the table by the door (one reason why reservations are suggested), and the tight confines at that point in the restaurant was a little uncomfortable for those seated with their back to the inbound and outbound customers. Nonetheless, a great dinner was had by all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great service and fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The food was good and not too pricey. It was a lot nicer than what I expected by the fiew from the outside. The portions were big and they had cloth napkins too. We really enjoyed it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City also viewed

 

Been to Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.