We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea food A Classic BUSY Sea food house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City

Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City
2301 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3820 (Formerly Legal Sea Foods - Crystal City)
+1 703-415-1200
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 654 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South 23rd Street
Transit: Crystal City (Yellow Line) Metro station.
Description: For all those who love seafood in Crystal City, the world really can be your oyster. Choose from among the 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish we serve simply prepared, 365 days a year. In season, our patio seating is a lure for those who choose the fresh seafood and fresh air combo.
Defiance, Missouri
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Sea food A Classic BUSY Sea food house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Having been here before i wanted to see how they are faring, overall same service levels, actually had quanities on a Sunday evening when they seem to run out being unable to stock for the weekend (always amazing in this busy environment), establishment smells better, food was excellent, hot and served rapidly. if yo crave seafood this is a reasonable choice for quicky turn around. it gets crowded so OT in advance will ensure you arent waiting in a tiny crowded entry way or outside in the cold.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    133
    124
    41
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“All crab + no cake = awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I'd heard of Legal Seafood for ages now, just had never been anywhere near one. So when I found myself in Crystal City last night and noticed LS just a few blocks away, my friend and I eagerly made the trek. In the biting wind and 20f chill, we were especially grateful for the heat and wonderful aromas as we were seated in our booth. Thank goodness for coatracks, too!
The crab cake was 100% delicious lumpiness and the grilled shrimp and scallops were a perfect accompaniment. My friend got the double stuffed shrimp. They looked divine but weren't his favorite. But lovely Zinfandel and impeccable service came together to complete our nice evening out. Even if it was bone-chilling once we walked back outside again.
This Legal Seafood is very near to many of the area's main hotels, as previously noted, and to the Crystal City metro, which for me, is always critical!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tasty franchise type place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I heard very good things about this restaurant and couldn't wait to try it. Clam chowder soup was a big disappointment. Lump crab dip, had no lumps, it was very thin and watery. My meal on the other hand was very tasty and the presentation was excellent. I give the highest praise to the steamed vegetables, especially the spinach, I had a shrimp pasta dish that was good and I tried the stuffed shrimp dish, which I would NOT recommend. The fish and chips were tasty, difficult to mess that up though. I give this a standard rating of a restaurant which is a franchise and nothing spectacular.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lumpy is Great when it's a Crabcake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

So one of my besties from the DMV area told me to check this place out. It was delicious! You will notice I only gave the food a 4 so I will explain. To get a five from me, everything that hits my pallet must look and taste divine. With that said, the crabcake was wonderful. Very lumpy and delicious. You're in VA so you've got to get it! My hubby ordered the stuffed shrimp. It was okay but they fell a little short on uniqueness there. Red Lobster can do what they pulled off with that dish. I had the fried seafood platter but got the shrimp and scallops Cajun and blackened. Delish! I got the scrod fried...yummy!! My drink was great too. The boston cream pie was elegantly displayed but oh my goodness it was lacking flavor!! If its to be beautifully presented...its to be delicious! That's why LS only gets a 4 in food (dessert and stuffed shrimp). Service was amazing! We will visit again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Seafood in Crystal City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Convient to all the major hotels, but you do have to cross Lee Highway if you're on the south side. Very upscale, noisey, but great service and food. Spendy but worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City also viewed

 

Been to Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Legal Sea Foods - Arlington - Crystal City to your Saves list