We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a group, excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Restaurant

Willow Restaurant
4301 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203
(703) 465-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Willow Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 676 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Utah
Transit: Public Transit Stops Two blocks from the Ballston Metro.
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
666 reviews 666 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
“Great for a group, excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Our group of approximately 25 people had a lovely social hour on their outdoor patio. We had drinks and appetizers before going into their party room inside. Our group had set up a limited menu, but the food selections were varied and all were very tasty. Our wait staff were personable and attentive. I had the "picnic salad" which was an interesting combination of corn, tomatoes and watermelon. For my entree, I had the beef filet medallions... excellent. For dessert, I enjoyed their apple crisp... yum. We had a great experience here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    56
    51
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Choice for Restaurant Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great menu, served with interesting combinations of ingredients. It is the season for corn; it seemed like each entree included corn in some fashion. Service was excellent. The atmosphere is very comfortable. I noticed at least 2 rooms for private parties. Parking is easy and relatively inexpensive. I will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Expected More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Even thought some of the reviews caused us some concern, we were looking forward to our visit to Willow last night. My wife and I and another couple met there for dinner. They were still offering a special fixed price menu that they had featured the week before and we all decided to try that since the selections seemed pretty interesting. We each had a different appetizer and three out of four (bisque, mussels, and flatbread) were hits; the chorizo was disappointing. It turned out that we ended up selecting just two of the main courses and while none were bad, they were only good and therefore a little bit of a let down. We each went a different route on desserts and all were excellent. The wine and beer list was extensive and the wait staff was attentive and professional. It took a while to get our drinks, but the pace of the meal was leisurely and what you would expect and want from a classy restaurant. The noise level was a little loud even though we had asked to be re-seated three twice to find a “quiet” corner. We did enjoy our visit, but were expecting more from the Willow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Arlington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Willow Restaurant sits on a rather busy street but its spacious outdoor patio offers comfortable shaded seating on a sunny summer afternoon. During restaurant weekend, Willow displays its versatility with many of its regular menu items rolled into a reasonably priced three course meal. I started with a refreshing watermelon, tomato, feta cheese salad with a spike of chipotle lime dressing. My companion opted for a fragrant smelling clam and bacon flat bread. I followed with stuffed squash blossoms on a bed of julienned zucchini; she with a deconstructed salmon taco on a skewer with tortillas and guacamole on the side. We sipped our way through a lovely Chilean sauvignon blanc and polished off the meal with a chocolate layer cake and sticky toffee pudding with salt caramel ice cream. It was a relaxing way to while away an August summer day while catching up on each other's news. Service was good and we were both happy that we tried Willow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant week menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Willow’s Restaurant Week menu provided plenty of choices—seven appetizers and eight mains. We both had the clams casino flatbread as an appetizer—thin crispy crust with savory toppings. The generous portion was nearly a meal in itself. My wife had salmon with corn ravioli and I had pork medallions with pork ravioli. Flavors were intense, although perhaps the meal was heavy on salt Shortbread with berries made a good dessert. Our waiter was busy and had to move fast, but we did not feel neglected. Room was noisy

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Willow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.