We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Themselves” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Restaurant

Willow Restaurant
4301 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203
(703) 465-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Willow Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 700 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Utah
Transit: Public Transit Stops Two blocks from the Ballston Metro.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Full of Themselves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, the food at Willow is outstanding but the hostesses and servers are stuck up. It's like your really in France.

I have been there for both lunch and dinner multiple times. The food and wine are excellent. But if you don't order a $40 lunch with drinks they really turn their noses up. I think they are trying too had to be an elite restaurant with white tableclothes and attitude.

That's it ... Excellent food with an attitude.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    57
    25
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Date Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I love this restaurant. The food is exceptional and the service is spot on. The Kale Salad is truly delicious, ( coming from a lady who does not favor greens ) and the North Atlantic Swordfish & Quinoa Mushroom Ravioli is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. Just go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pequea, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Arlington Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were here for a reception to honor a longtime local resident who had passed away. This was his favorite restaurant and he was a regular. The wait staff were very friendly and circulated well with the passed hors d'oeuvres. The flat breads were fantastic! The decor was really appealing - a sophisticated and welcoming combination of burgundy, brass, wood and natural light. Due to the occasion, we didn't fully explore the menu or beverage options but we'll go back! The Willow is an easy walk from the Ballston Metro station. Fyi, for nature enthusiasts, it's also close to the Arlington office of the Nature Conservancy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience at Willow no owner follow-up when reported”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have been to Willow a couple of times and was impressed but this last time was a deal breaker. Went in at lunch because there was a storm brewing, sat at the bar which was sticky and dirty and never got my food after 30 minutes of waiting. Was sitting at the bar and deserted completely. And I ordered soup and a half sandwich. Had to walk out for a meeting - what a mess. When I contacted the owner never got a response - that's it for me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“really nice find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

really nice restaurant with street entrance but also building entrance..decor is very cool and appealing. Menu is good and diverse. Food was very good, service was good and we had a private dining area making it extra special.

they even validate garage parking. will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Willow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.