We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Safe Bet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Restaurant

Willow Restaurant
4301 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203
(703) 465-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Willow Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 675 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Utah
Transit: Public Transit Stops Two blocks from the Ballston Metro.
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always a Safe Bet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Willow seldom disappoints. The menu choices are varied and include something to please everyone's palate. My friend and I visited for lunch. I ordered the smoked tomato soup, delicious, and the mushroom flatbread. My friend's choice was the beet salad. It was beautifully presented, and in my friends words, very good. I also got a to go smoked salmon sandwich, another great choice. The dining room gets loud as it fills up, but it is otherwise comfortable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    54
    50
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dined at Willow to celebrate 5th wedding anniversary.
There is a reason this place made Washingtonian's Top 100 restaurants and snagged three stars.

Kudos to Willow for getting it right all around. Everything was top notch making it an excellent experience. Huge thanks to our waiter - who provided honest appraisals of the food and really helped steer us in the right direction for a great meal.

Signature cocktails - Spiced Pear Side Care and Whiskey Sour Cherry were well balanced and expertly crafted cocktails. Great way to start the meal.

App - shared the Bay Scallops. Amazing! The baked combination of creamy and crunchy with the scallops worked so well and it was a welcomed. Very distinctive and interesting use a common ingredient which Willow really made their own in this dish.

Entrees - both were absolute hits. As promised by our waiter, seafood really was the way to go. The Salmon with lentils provided a hearty and comforting dish for my husband. My selection of Tuna wrapped in proscuitto was equally yummy - the salty, crispy outer wrapping really made the fish - taking an already great quality ingredient and making it even better.

Dessert - Layer cake of the day. WOW. So yummy and light (I know it sounds so counter intuitive) it was the best d@mn layer cake ever.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A great place to sit at the bar and have a drink or have dinner. We did both. I had one of their soups (sorry can't remember which one) and the salmon plate - smoked salmon, latkes and a great crunchy slaw. My husband had arugula salad and cauliflower bisque. It was all excellent. Their chardonnay is excellent. Not too noisy, but we were there early. Convenient parking underneath which is plus in busy Clarendon. A little pricey, but worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Willow is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate @ Willow with a group of friends and were seated in a private room for 8. The atmosphere was beautiful & cozy without being cramped or short on space. The food is excellent & the service was very good. We had a leisurely dinner, great drinks, food & conversation. I suggest readers check this out when visiting Arlington.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Visited Willow during Restaurant Week DC. My meal (and my friend's) was wonderful, as usual! The beet salad with goat cheese and beautiful greens was absolutely delightful -- and beautiful! A work of art in fact! I also enjoyed the filet mignon stroganoff served atop a bed of tender spaetzel. And ohhh - that lilikoi (passion fruit) cheesecake was heavenly! I can't wait to return -- in fact, I'll be back there next week! Service was attentive and added to the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Willow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.