We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal....nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Arlington Gateway to your Saves list
The Westin Arlington Gateway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great deal....nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family booked thus room through Exoedia for $110/night. The room was clean, very well-appointed, huge bathroom, heavenly beds and showers, and an on-site Starbucks. There are several restaurants within a 5 minute walk (Chipotle, Montana Grill, Dunkin Donuts, Big Buns, Subway, IHOP, etc). The Ballston metro stop is aldo withon a 3-5 minute walk. The staff was friendly, even if a bit overbearing with the service. Parking us valet only, $30/day.
You may be interested to know the fitness center is on the 3rd floor by the pool. There are 4 elliptical trainers, 4 treadmills, a bicycle, many medicine balls and free weights. They provide water, wet/cold towels, and even earbuds if you forget yours. You can watch TV or listen to music while looking out the floor-to-ceiling windows at the activity outside.
Finally, a neat feature....they offer a $5 per day food voucher for each day you don't have them change your linens. You can use this voucher at the Starbucks on-site. Good savings!
Overall, we were pleased with our stay!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I visit my ailing father regularly in assisted living right behind the Westin, and have stayed in many hotels nearby. The Westin is the best choice hands down for its internet, breakfast buffet and access to a pool when I am traveling with my daughter. I even had Christmas dinner in their restaurant with my father, and it was joyful and tasty despite not being at home. The beds are so comfy!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Paid $300 a night. True, the location was great. Two blocks from metro. Great because we had no vehicle. Our view was of the top of the trees in the alley way park. It was a nice view. Staff very polite. Swimming pool (or should I say kiddie pool) was only 3 1/2 ft deep the whole length of the pool. Charged $2 for a bottle of water. Had fridge, so we walked to CVS and got our own to place in fridge. NO continental breakfast!!! You'd think that for $300 a night, that would come with it. There were free apples in the lobby, if you like apples. They have a breakfast buffet for $18 per person. And a full breakfast menu. Starting with 2 eggs, meat, potatoes, bread, for $20. And a Starbucks next to the lobby. Nice place to sleep. I will have to say that was the best about our stay.? The Simmons Heavenly beds and pillows. The best sleep I've had in years. You can get them from the Westin website. Going to purchase one for my Christmas Present to me. But....$300 a night? And a 3 1/2 ft pool, and no continental breakfast? Could stay just outside of area and rented a car then paid parking and taken public transportation a whole lot cheaper and been able to use the rental car for trips outside the metro area. Nice place, but not for someone on a budget. But, maybe they want it that way.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, Director of Operations at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good day,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I am glad you enjoyed a heavenly rest. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and do our best to keep competitive pricing for the area. It is our hope that the Westin Brand differentiators (Heavenly Bed and Bath, Westin Workout Fitness Studio…) paired with our associates's personalized service, creates an experience that exceeds our guest’s expectations to make their stay worth the price.

Thank you for being our guest.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was very good. It was spacious with 2 huge beds. I was alone hence I only used 1 one them. Selection of TV channels was also good. Service was only average and not noteworthy. Food in the hotel restaurant was delicious. I had the breakfast menu as well as dinner. The location of the hotel was very close to the office I visited which is why I stayed here. All in all the hotel is pricey compared to what you get.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, Director of Operations at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good day,

Thank you for being our guest and taking time to share your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your room and Pinzimini. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. I will share your feedback concerning the service being “not noteworthy” to coach our team on how to exceed our guests’ expectations. Thank you for taking a part in helping us improve our guest service in the future.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Free FAST internet in fact. They still charge for parking, sold that part to get around it and blame the people who run the garage now.
Best beds anywhere, very comfortable, lots of pillows, great coffee in the room and renewing a lot of things.
NICE restaurant, good feel to it. Unfortunately the food is barely so-so. I had aa so-so hamburger that read well on the menu but was pretty bland when it came, frozen french fries vs fresh cut, I've tried the breakfast in the past, want's fantastic either. Fortunately there are a couple nice restaurants across the street or Zoe's down around the corner, Zoe's is great. Back to the Westin, staff is always great and helpful, showers are fantastic.
The evening waitress "Rozalia" makes you feel wanted and at home, gives good advice and has a voice I could listen to for hours.
Would I stay here again, of cource, I actually like the place and hace stayed her many times over the years.
And I like to listen to Rozalia.

Room Tip: They have some smaller rooms, the larger ones are better, ask not to be put in the small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, Director of Operations at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good day,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and more importantly the people and the service. Our heavenly bed and bath are one of the most important attributes of being a Westin and I am glad you enjoy them. We thank you for being our guest and look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a suite and arrived around 5 p.m. - we ordered two appetizers as it had been a long drive but had to cancel them as they had not arrived within an hour and he had to leave for dinner - they did deliver a cheese plate and bottle of wine to apologize however upon eating the cheese plate we realized it was moldy. The starbucks attached was out of pretty much everything including coffee lids...

The hotel room and pool were fairly dirty to be honest - there were pink stains on the wall in the bathroom, the coffee table didn't seem like it had been cleaned, we found hairs on the floor, stains on the comforter and the rug. The hot tub in the pool area had some tissue or toilet paper floating around and there was a film in the pool with some clumps of hair near the ladder.


Also - price wise certain aspects were a little ridiculous - I ordered a children's scrambled egg plate which I believe was $6- they add on a $4 service charge and 20% gratuity which basically doubled the cost (plus room for an add'l tip of course). They say that it all goes to the employees however maybe they should pay their employees better instead of putting it back on guests already spending over $300/night. The wifi in our room was very spotty - we had to turn it off a few times as it just kept freezing.

Overall was not impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a strong wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, Director of Front Office at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good day,

Thank you for being our guest. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and I am sorry to hear we were “just ok…” during your stay. I apologize for your restaurant experience falling below our standards as well as our cleanliness. Your comments have been shared with the teams to ensure we improve on these areas moving forward. Thank you for sharing your experience to help us better assist our guests in the future.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed here several times for business as is convenient for my business destination. Typical Westin. Great bed. Good bath. Free wifi. Adequate workspace and lighting. Rooms getting a bit dated but totally adequate and undergoing some renovations. A short stroll to metro for commute into DC. In a neighborhood with shops and restaurants. But is often sold out with conferences and/or tourist during peak seasons so hard to get a room when last minute travel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, Director of Operations at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Good day,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you enjoy staying with us. In April we completed a multi-million dollar transformation of all of our guest rooms. I hope you will have the opportunity to come and experience the new feel of the Westin Arlington Gateway. Thank you for being our guest.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Westin Arlington Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Arlington Gateway

Address: 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Arlington Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Arlington Gateway enjoys prime access to its surrounding area. In the active Ballston area of Arlington, and just a short walk from the Ballston Metro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your The Westin Arlington Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel Arlington
Arlington Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Arlington Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.