We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and dog friendly! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Arlington Gateway to your Saves list
The Westin Arlington Gateway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely and dog friendly! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A lovely property located within a mostly commercial area just two short blocks from the Metro.

The staff was warm and welcoming. The valet genuinely cared about our experience and the concierge graciously insisted on walking our dog during check-in so that our hands would be free (welcomed assistance). No pet or cleaning fees, just a reasonable liability waiver. We were also offered a complimentary "heavenly" dog bed, which we declined. The staff actually greeted our Jack Russell by name every time they saw him, it was like traveling with a celebrity; this is truly a dog friendly hotel!

A decent view from our Club room but the surrounding area wasn't particularly memorable. The room's size was good but not "generous," the bath was on the small side of standard but functional and well appointed. The king bed was "heavenly" just as expected.

My one complaint is the property advertised a Club Lounge with its Club Rooms (at a premium) but the lounge was closed during our entire stay. Maybe the lounge was closed for renovations, but I'm not sure as the signage was cryptic and the staff indicated it had been closed for some time. I suggest calling the hotel directly before booking Club. This shortfall would have really upset me if my upgrade to Club hadn't been a free perk of my preferred guest status.

I highly recommend this jewel to anyone traveling with a dog!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    236
    102
    43
    17
See reviews for
130
94
64
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were given a great deal on the rooms, however, we were then charged for parking (where did they think we would park?) AND internet for the room.

The staff was friendly and helpful; but the "great deal" was not so great with the added expenditures.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzalocha, Director of Sales at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Wendy G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will review your comments with our management team, and hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in June and had a wonderful time. The room was spacious, clean, and well appointed. The breakfast buffet was excellent. It is 4 blocks from the metro and a short ride to all of D.C.'s attractions. There are lots of restaurants in the area as well as other shopping opportunities. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife & I stayed here for a few nights over the 4th of July weekend. This hotel provided a much better value than other options within DC, and its location just 2 blocks from a Metro station gave us easy access to the city. The entrance and lobby is airy and modern, and we loved having a full Starbucks store right off the lobby to start the day.

We didn't use the hotel restaurant, but it looked decent. PF Changs and other good dining options are also right across the street.

We had a standard king room, which was comfortable, but the bathroom felt a tad on the small size. Bed and bath linens seemed particularly nice. The swimming pool was on the 3rd floor and the standard-height ceiling seemed a bit low for that type of space.

The staff was very friendly and promptly accommodating. Free valet parking is also a nice touch. I'd definitely consider staying here again next time we plan a visit to DC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I chose to stay at Westin Arlington for my past experiences with Westin Times Square. This hotel was a nice place to stay, too. Rooms are very clean. The signature of White Tea Aloe aroma is my favorite thing in Westin hotels, and it was there again. I loved it.

Details:
I stayed in a room in 5th floor. There was a noise problem from the windows and air conditioner which will disturb you. I couldn't sleep well, honestly. On the other hand, the beds are very comfortable. For two nights of parking, which is valet parking, I paid $58, excluding the tips.
Another problem was with the internet in the rooms. I had two devices, laptop and cell phone, by which I wanted to arrange some of my works online at night before midnight. Started at 11pm but couldn't connect properly for half an hour. And I called for Express Service. An IT expert came over the phone and we talked for about 30 minutes (at which I already missed my deadlines=fines on the way). Anyway until I go to sleep on 1AM, the internet wasn't properly provided in the room. So I was left with my works and deadlines and fines. The day after I had no time to take care of those and a simple problem led to more problems with me.

All in all, I liked the hotel but the noise and internet problems were a killer for me. I won't go back again to this particular one.

Room Tip: Don't go to rooms on the 5th floor for the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzalocha, Director of Sales at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Safa704,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize for the inadequate internet service and noise issues you experienced during your stay. We will review your comments with our management team, and do everything we can to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The staff was very friendly...The rooms were great and the beds were very comfortable. The pool area was clean and there was a lifeguard who was always checking to make sure the pool was clean. The room service was average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Österreich
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Beautiful, clean hotel with nice staff. Metro station (Ballston) is just two blocks away. Around the corner of the hotel there is a mall (not that awesome but quite ok) which is very useful if you need something from the pharmacy or want to grab a bite to eat. There are also some restaurants in the neighborhood and next to the hotel lobby there is a Starbucks.
Our room was on the third floor, spacious and clean.
The gym could have been better equipped (more heavy weights!), the indoor pool is quite nice.

The room rates are rather high so I don't understand, why WIFI is not already included.

Green Features: "Make a green choice" is an awesome project. For each night you decline housekeeping, you get a voucher or Starwood Preferred Guest Starpoints. Very nice idea.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Arlington Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Arlington Gateway

Address: 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#28 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Arlington Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Arlington Gateway enjoys prime access to its surrounding area. In the active Ballston area of Arlington, and just a short walk from the Ballston Metro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Arlington Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel Arlington
Arlington Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Arlington Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.