We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep and no service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Save Saved
You added The Westin Arlington Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Arlington Gateway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“No sleep and no service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed at this property numerous times and were pleased in the past (it is also convenient to the subway lines into DC). This time they stuck us on a floor that was under construction. Two steps off the elevator, you could see plastic on the walls and huge fans running all the way down the halls. The first night we noticed a continuous clunking, which kept all of us up all night. We reported it and they said they were going to check it out...they forgot to. The next night...the same noise and lack of attention. In fact, I even recorded the noise on my phone and when I asked them if they wanted to hear it, they said that "it wasn't necessary."

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Director of Rooms Division at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear MichiganMan90,

Thank you for providing your review of The Westin Arlington Gateway. I am glad that you find our location to be ideal for Metro access when traveling to Arlington, VA. I was disappointed to read about the shortfall in follow up and maintenance of your guestroom. I have shared your comments with our team so that we may complete the appropriate repairs. Please feel free to contact me directly at 703.537.4216 if you would like to provide additional details about your stay.

Be well,

-Dave Meredith
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    210
    96
    39
    14
See reviews for
124
83
60
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Love a nice hotel that not only says they're "pet friendly", but their employees also exhibit that friendliness toward my four-legged, furry child. Our room on the 4th floor was very clean (bathroom was updated and spotless) and the bed was oh so comfy. Why only 3 stars? I can't get past a hotel in this day and age charging $12/day for slow wifi. Fast, easily accessible wifi from my room is more important to me than a flat screen TV. I can't work without it. I can't connect to my family without it. I don't care if you up the room rate by $15/night...don't ask me to pay for wifi...that just ticks me off and makes me want to go to a hotel where I get it for "free".

Regarding the "pet friendliness" - again, the staff was great with our dog. The only suggestion I have is a map or directions to where a pet can "do his business". Not being familiar with the area, we had a very difficult time finding a grassy/mulched area that didn't have a "no dogs allowed" sign.

Green Features: The water pressure in the sink was very low. Not what I'm used to but wasn't too inconvenient.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Director of Rooms Division at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear tinainvirginia,

Thank you for reviewing The Westin Arlington Gateway and highlighting our "Love That Dog" program. The Westin Arlington Gateway does allows dogs under 40 lbs. to stay with you during your travels. I was disappointed to read that the WiFi offering failed to meet your expectations. The Westin Arlington Gateway offers a variety of guestroom packages that include High Speed Internet Access. In Addition, Gold and Platinum elite level members of the Starwood Preferred Guest program have the option to select complimentary internet access at time of arrival. I hope we have the opportunity to host you on your next visit to Arlington.

Be well,

-Dave Meredith
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loyola, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times and their consistency is the mark. Not fancy but clean, functional and quiet. The location is perfect. I66 and Metro station within a stones throw. Route 50 only a bit farther. The restaurant is good and quick and the bar service friendly. Starbucks in the lobby is a nice feature. The fitness center is well equipped for a hotel gym and always spotless.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Director of Rooms Division at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear T P,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Westin Arlington Gateway. I appreciate the positive feedback and will share the comments with our housekeeping team. Pinzimini is an ideal location to share one of our signature entrees over lunch, or unwind with a local craft beer and good company after a long day. We hope to see you again soon in the New Year.

Be well,

-Dave Meredith
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I selected the Westin Arlington Gateway for a two night stay for its location and reasonable company rates. The 'heavenly bed' was exceptionally comfortable and deserves its designation. The heating/ventilation system in the room was also very comfortable and quite. I wouldn't describe the reception staff as particularly 'friendly', but they were businesslike, helpful and efficient. Check-in and check-out was very quick.
My only quibble was with the prices for breakfast in the restaurant. A full breakfast of coffee, OJ, cereal and a hot plate came to over $30. The food was pretty good, but expensive. There are plenty of other eating options in the immediate vicinity for other meals but the only alternative for breakfast was an onsite Starbucks for those who just want a coffee and pastry on the go.
The most important things for me in a hotel stay are a good night's sleep and a decent breakfast.
The Westin exceeded my expectations for the former, but the later came with a hefty price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Director of Rooms Division at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear repleo52,

Thank you for the compliments of the hotel during your visit. I was delighted to read that the 'Heavenly Bed' exceeded your expectations. Our culinary team, lead by our new Executive Chef Bo Palker, is currently reviewing the menu offerings. I look forward to your next visit to the Arlington area so that you may enjoy the new seasonal offerings.

Be well,

-Dave Meredith
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Haven
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great experience at the Westin Arlington Gateway. Robert at the Front Desk was superb. Answered all questions and was extremely helpful. Room was clean..pillow and bedding was so comfortable!!! The rainfall shower was a spa experience. Hotel was close to most arlington locations. The staff has excellent customer service skills. Only negative was the high fees for the parking garage!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Director of Rooms Division at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear cruizn302,

Thank you for the glowing review of The Westin Arlington Gateway. I will be sure to pass the compliments to our Guest Services team. I was delighted to read that both the Heavenly Bed and the Heavenly Shower 2 exceeded your expectations. Prior to your next visit, be sure to check our offers page as we frequently have guestroom packages that include valet parking, breakfast or other amenities.

Be well,

-Dave Meredith
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. It is very well located for he area restaurants as well as the subway..which can get you everywhere. The staff was great as well as the rooms..which were clean and well stocked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Director of Rooms Division at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Steve_L_WA,

Thank you for your review of The Westin Arlington Gateway and for attending the conference. I look forward to sharing your comments with our housekeeping team that our room was " Clean and Well Stocked". We hope to see you again soon.

Be well,
Dave Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Westin in Arlington is well located for many purposes, although not in DC proper. That is why it is much more reasonable than a property of its quality would be in DC. What you get is the typical Westin friendly welcome, clean, spacious rooms, but for less than in DC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Director of Rooms Division at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Mark W,

Thank you for the delightful compliments of the hotel. The Westin Arlington Gateway is ideally located near the Ballston Metro station. For our guests on the go, The Westin has a Starbucks Coffee store on our lobby level. I look forward to your next visit.

Be well,

-Dave Meredith
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Arlington Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Arlington Gateway

Address: 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#24 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#25 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Arlington Gateway 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Arlington Gateway enjoys prime access to its surrounding area. In the active Ballston area of Arlington, and just a short walk from the Ballston Metro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Arlington Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel Arlington
Arlington Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Arlington Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.