We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for the Virginia Tech Research Center – Arlington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Arlington Gateway to your Saves list
The Westin Arlington Gateway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay for the Virginia Tech Research Center – Arlington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a conference she coordinated at The Virginia Tech Research Center – Arlington . The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly on numerous occasions both before I arrived and during our stay. Love the convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara F, Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Arlington Gateway! I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and that our team provided you with excellent service, even prior to your arrival. We are lucky to have Virginia Tech as a part of our Ballston neighborhood and I'm glad our location was convenient for your conference. When planning your next trip to Arlington, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    248
    106
    45
    17
See reviews for
136
97
66
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here during a business trip in Arlington, VA. The street is noisy and had lots of construction going on. However there are plenty of good restaurants near by within walking distance. I would likely choose another hotel for my next vsit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara F, Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Westin Arlington Gateway for your trip last year. I'm so sorry to hear that the construction prevented you from having an enjoyable stay with us. Your experience does not reflect the level of service and care we strive to provide to our guests and I apologize we fell short of creating a renewing stay for you. Please let us know when you do return to Arlington so that I may ensure a flawless experience for you. If there are any additional comments or concerns from this stay, please feel free to contact our team at frontoffice@westin-arlington.com. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Spent a Bar Mitzvah weekend here recently and loved it. Great gym, great location, and very attentive staff. My only complaints are 1) that the parking is very much valet-only, so if you are forgetful like me, you have to inconvenience the helpful attendants to return to your vehicle, and 2) there is, apparently, no club lounge. But really, these are small problems.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara F, Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments both here and on our hotel website. We appreciate you choosing the Westin Arlington Gateway and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. My apologies that you experienced any problems with our valet service. I'll be sure to speak with that department so that any future issues can be avoided. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back on a future trip to Arlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here in the last of September and thought it was a great location, very clean and excellent front desk and concierge services. In fact everyone gave excellent service. We walked to restaurants and shopping. The room was very nice with an upholstered chair and table, with a lamp - excellent to read by. I had to pay for internet service, but it was reasonable. The only restaurant was excellent, but very pricey, especially for cocktails - only bought 1! The only problem was the water pressure in our bathroom, the sink was bad and at times the toilet had to be repeated flushed. The amenities in the bathroom and room (coffee maker etc.) were great; befitting a Westin hotel. The grounds were also immaculate, especially the back patio/terrace area. We always felt safe walking the streets in the area.

Room Tip: all are about the same - sound-proofed really well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara F, Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback regarding your stay. I'm so sorry to hear you experienced some issues with the water pressure. If you'd like to reach out to us directly at frontoffice@westin-arlington.com, I will ensure that our engineering team can inspect the room to make sure everything is in proper working condition. It's great to see you were able to enjoy our Ballston neighborhood location and our Pinzimini restaurant. Thank you again for choosing the Westin Arlington Gateway and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is a nice place to stay. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are very clean, it is within short walking distance to a mall and many resturants. It is a nice place but it is just a normal hotel, nothing stand out good or bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara F, Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Arlington Gateway. I appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback with us. Our goal is for our guests to depart feeling renewed, feeling better than when they arrived and I am sorry we did not achieve this on your visit. I am glad to see you enjoyed our staff and convenient location, but am sorry that your expectations were not exceeded. Please reach out to us at frontdesk@westin-arlington.com before your next stay and let us know how we can work to provide you with an exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here with spouse for a conference he was attending. The hotel was nice and located very close to shopping. Nice, friendly staff although they weren't so helpful with giving directions, not that they were rude, but not helpful. Aside from that, the room was nice and the food was okay. I'd prefer to pay a little less for a room with free hot breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara F, Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback regarding your stay. Our team strives to provide the best possible service, so I'm sorry to see that these expectations were not fully met. I will share these comments with the concierge team to make sure they have all the necessary information and are able to answer any guest questions. Again, I thank you for your review, as this is the best way for our team to grow and improve. We hope to welcome you and your spouse back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great hotel, nice rooms with big windows and comfortable beds. There are plenty of restaurants within a 5 minute walk or less. Pleasant staff.

The best part was that there is a great jogging trail less than a half mile away. Cross Glebe Rd and follow Wilson to George Mason Drive. At that intersection the paved trail starts in the south west corner. It goes further than you will and is well traveled with joggers and bike commuters. Gym was well equipped for a hotel gym.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara F, Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Westin Arlington Gateway! I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our nearby jogging paths. We are passionate about our Run Westin program since it benefits so many of our guests, so I am excited to share these comments with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Arlington Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Arlington Gateway

Address: 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#28 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Arlington Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Arlington Gateway enjoys prime access to its surrounding area. In the active Ballston area of Arlington, and just a short walk from the Ballston Metro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Arlington Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel Arlington
Arlington Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Arlington Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.