We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accommodations - nothing spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Arlington Gateway to your Saves list
The Westin Arlington Gateway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent accommodations - nothing spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I am here for a conference and have stayed one night. Check in went fine for me. Staff were very pleasant and polite.

Room was stuffy upon arrival, but I got the a/c working and it was icy cold when I returned from dinner.

Room was neat and reasonably spacious. Carpet seemed grubby/stained though. Housekeeping straightened the room nicely after my first night.

A brief walk around the area last night did not reveal a whole lot of dining choices or much to see. Found a bar nearby that had OK food. The metro stop is supposedly nearby, offering easy access to DC.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing details about your recent experience. I was disappointed to hear that your room was stuffy upon your arrival and that the carpet was not up to our normal cleanliness standards which our guests expect at the Westin Arlington Gateway. I have shared your feedback with my Housekeeping Manger to ensure that our team is leaving the HVAC on at the appropriate set point during the summer months as well as following up on all carpet cleaning requests.

Regards,

Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    236
    102
    43
    17
See reviews for
130
94
64
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was a very nice hotel, beds very comfortable. The location is near many restaurants and near metro station. We went into DC on metro, and for 4 adults and four children...... 80 USD, LUCKILY we had a car so it was cheaper to drive in and park in a car park than catch the metro. We used the swimming pool lots of times, towels supplied and beds and chairs to sit on.Children were a little disappointed as it was only people over the age of 16 that could use the Jacuzzi. Staff were all very helpful and pleasant.The hotel offered a "green voucher" which was worth 5 USD, this was given if you opted out of having room service each day .We were dissapointed that we were unable to use this voucher in the Starbucks which was within the hotel building.stiil unsure where you can redeem these.Overall a fantastic stay and will return to a Westin Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. As an international traveller, we know you have many options in our nation's capital, and we are delighted that you chose The Westin Arlington Gateway. We're glad that you enjoyed our convenient location near DC and the features of our neighborhood. I'm sorry to hear that there was a miscommunication regarding our Green Choice program. Your feedback is valuable in helping us to find ways of improving and we will be sure to clarify this to our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is a must-stay for really anyone. The greatest thing about it is we got an insane deal of 99 dollars a night. Have no idea how though, only thing we can think of is that they needed to get someone into that room. A 6 star value. It was kind of fancy; big clean rooms with almost every amenity you could want in a hotel room, except a microwave. Location was great, in the middle of Arlington and very close to Washington DC, which is where we went to each day that we were there. 5 minute walk to the metro train station too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for providing us with positive insights on your most recent visit. I am delighted to hear you were able to take advantage of our summer weekend rate special – we run rate specials on the weekends during the summer as well as on holidays throughout the year and hope to welcome you back again soon. When you come back to visit us, we do provide microwaves for our guests upon request, so please be sure to let us know if you would like one to be placed in your room.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful weekend at this Westin. The staff is very friendly. The concierge (Cynthia and Cal) were knowledgable and extremely helpful. I will definitely stay here again! The courier (Steven) also went above and beyond helping with our luggage and getting all us settled into our rooms.

This location is very near shopping - a mall is just steps away. Dining options abound, although one of our best meals was the hotel's restaurant (Sunday morning breakfast was yum!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and recognizing several of our guest services associates. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and have already shared your positive feedback with our team. We hope to welcome you back as our guest soon.

Be well,

Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location. Clean rooms. Very spacious. The hotel staff was amazing from the time we checked in until we checked out. I had one slight problem with the bill upon checking out but emailed the manager of the hotel who quickly responded and took care of everything for me within a couple of days. I'm an SPG member so he even gave me complimentary Starpoints.

It was a great location. Was really easy to get into DC quickly (we went for the Inauguration). Train is right there if you don't rent a car. Plenty of restaurants and shopping surrounding the area. If you're looking to stay close to the city but not pay the city prices this is definitely the place to stay.

Only thing to take note. Valet parking is a bit on the expensive side so plan accordingly. There is no hotel self free parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stepan S, Front Office Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Neesh33,
Thank you for choosing the Westin Arlington Gateway. Thank you further for your lovely review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel staff from “the time we checked in until we checked out” and that manager was able to assist you promptly. We are proud to have the most amazing staff of any hotel in Arlington. I look forward to welcoming you to our property again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night for just one night stay. Upon entering the hotel we were impressed with the beautiful lobby. A woman put all our luggage on a cart and wheeled it to the desk for us. The woman who checked us in was very nice and gave our baby a rubber ducky. Our luggage was delivered to our room within a few seconds of us getting in. The room was spacious and lovely. It was too bad we weren't there any longer!
The location was great to see Washington, D.C. sights. It looked like there was a lot to do in the area of the hotel too.
The only part that stinks is the parking fee, but it was less than the fee in dc hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stepan S, Front Office Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear YLH12,
Thank you for choosing the Westin Arlington Gateway. Thank you further for your review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel location and the hotel amenities such as our large pool or 24 hours WestinWORKOUT®. We are proud to have the most “fantastic” staff of any hotel in Arlington. I look forward to welcoming you to our property again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My family came in to town for my wedding and the hotel we were using sold out. We put some of our family at the Westin. They loved the hotel! The location was perfect; close to the metro, the mall, restaurants, and bars. They also liked the pool and the hotel amenities. Stepan and his staff at the front desk were all fantastic. One of our guests had a medical issue and the front desk staff helped her get what she needed, they went above and beyond their duties. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Arlington Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Arlington Gateway

Address: 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#28 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Arlington Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Arlington Gateway enjoys prime access to its surrounding area. In the active Ballston area of Arlington, and just a short walk from the Ballston Metro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Arlington Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel Arlington
Arlington Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Arlington Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.