We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Save Saved
You added The Westin Arlington Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Arlington Gateway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Hamburg, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent four nights at the Westin in July. The room was on the 15th floor and the view was great! It was very hot outside, the air conditioning cycled off and on all night long. The fan was loud and blew cold air towards the bed. This could have been our fault, as we tried to manually adjust the fan, and we did not ask for help. This hotel is an easy walk to the Metro. Our biggest complaint is the WiFi service. It is expensive to have it in your room, and I had a very difficult time accessing it in the lobby two evenings. Most of the staff were very helpful, (the Wi FI problem involved 2 shifts of workers Sunday evening, and another group Monday evening). The Monday evening group stuck with me until the problem was resolved. Bottom line, the location is excellent. The rooms are clean and quiet. The WiFi is unreliable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    213
    96
    39
    14
See reviews for
126
83
60
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel fit the bill for what I'd expect for a Westin - great common facilities and comfortable rooms. While we stayed here on business, we did travel with our 8 month old daughter. The hotel staff was quite accommodating of her needs, allowing us an early check-in. This helped with her transition to the hotel and made the rest of the trip much more enjoyable. The only difficulty with her was that the rooms were somewhat small, making it difficult to find a location for her crib.

Other than the size (which was noticeably smaller than another hotel we stayed at the night before), our room was enjoyable. Though we were facing the street, we didn't have any noise problems. The furnishings were pretty typical Westin furnishings, so it wasn't anything special - but it served our needs quite well.

Overall, this seemed like a good business hotel that also accommodated our family nicely.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Arlington Gateway! Traveling with young children can often add unexpected changes to your trip and I'm delighted to hear we were able to accommodate your needs. Our team appreciates your valuable feedback as it helps us to find new ways to grow and improve our Westin Heavenly Crib service. Whether your next visit to DC is for business or leisure, our team looks forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Ballston neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was excellent.
Room was spacious and the bed was amazing comfortable.
Location was great, only a couple of blocks from the subway and plenty of restaurants nearby - try the pasta place, fresh & tasty!
As for the customer service, outstanding. Cynthia the concierge was an angel, nothing was too much trouble & she put us onto so many great things to do & see that we never would have thought of.
Would highly recommend this hotel and was also great value.
Would definitely stay there again & we look forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Mel, thank you for taking the time to provide all these comforting comments. This feedback motivates and encourages our team to continue to provide our guests with excellent service. From arrival to departure, I'm delighted that you enjoyed everything in between from the Heavenly Bed to the Ballston neighborhood. Thank you so much for choosing the Westin Arlington Gateway and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights here for business close to the hotel. Got a king size bedroom on the 11th floor that was quiet with good space and your own refrigerator. It was clean and you could manage the air condition manually for your personal choice. The curtains made the room really dark which I like, you don't wake up because of the sun. Very easy access to subway for quick transportation to DC. Many restaurant choices close to the hotel. Had lunch once at the Pinzimini restaurant in the hotel that was very nice. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Arlington Gateway. It's great to read all your comments regarding your stay and I look forward to sharing these with our team. I'm glad you enjoyed a comfortable and restful week and that you were able to visit our Pinzimini restaurant. When planning your next trip to the DC Metropolitan area, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wow does this hotel need to get in the swing of things as the world passes them by. You have to pay hefty fee for wifi service in your room and it fads in/out as you use it. Business traveler and very disappointed in the room 4th floor lots of street noise and elevator traffic past room all night. Starbucks attached which closes late afternoon and no place to grab quick snack unless you leave hotel.
Will not recommend this hotel to my partners and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The service was excellent and very friendly. We were just there one night to see DC and then on to a family event in Virginia. The only issue we had was our room was on the 11th floor not far from the elevators and the noise of what sounded like the elevator shafts and lines creaking and moving came loudly through a vent in our room. So the noise level was loud.

The location of the hotel was near fun restaurants and the metro.

Room Tip: Ask not to be near the lobby / elevator area of the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here a few night recently on a trip to DC. The staff was extremely friendly and the room and location were great! Would definitely come back again. The only complaint I have is that the indoor pool had roughly 25 kids one night when we went to check it out, we were really turned off by that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Arlington Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Arlington Gateway

Address: 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#25 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#25 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Arlington Gateway 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Arlington Gateway enjoys prime access to its surrounding area. In the active Ballston area of Arlington, and just a short walk from the Ballston Metro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Arlington Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel Arlington
Arlington Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Arlington Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.