We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property - Room service below average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Arlington Gateway to your Saves list
The Westin Arlington Gateway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good property - Room service below average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Good property. Very good sleep quality. Neat & clean.

Only one issue - every time you call in for any dining service, the room service folks are confused or ill informed. Also, do expect exceptionally long holds to talk to room service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear ikazi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am sorry that you experienced confusion and delay with room service. I have shared your comments with the team, comments like yours enable us to continually improve our service to our guests.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Be well,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    241
    103
    45
    17
See reviews for
131
95
65
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Well, stayed here for 3 nights for a recent work trip to Arlington. This is a newish hotel, in downtown Arlington which itself all looks only about 5 years old :) Staff are friendly, facilities are good, and though the place is perhaps a bit pricey, I did feel I got value for money.

Location is great - 3 mins walk to the nearest Metro, and the immediate area has some interesting eateries/drinkeries (albeit in very new buildings). Not much to actually see in the area, but as it's easy to travel into DC from here, so the hotel could be a useful place to hang out if you get a good deal. One comment about the rooms - there are large (new, pleasant-looking...) apartment blocks at the rear of the hotel, so hotel rooms are overlooked by a gazillion other (apartment) windows.

My ONLY complaint - wifi in the rooms not free (around 10USD per day, discount for longer). Though fast, this cost was a disappointment (and free wifi in the bar area was glacially slow). That said, it was nice to have free access to printers (for boarding passes etc.) downstairs.

Room Tip: As always, go high, and maybe rooms at the front are less overlooked in this crowded part of Arlingt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear jhodgson,

Thank you for for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and our prime location. We are aware of speed issues with the internet in the public areas, and our IT team is dilligently working on correcting this.

I hope to welcome you in the future.

Be inspired,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

i have to say this hotel is in a great location and safe to walk around at night. it's conveniently located near a few restaurants with medium cost. if you decide to park on the property, it's a bit expensive (standard by most hotel rates today, but i feel is expensive), but parking on the weekend on a side street is free. just know that by 6am, you better be gone touring or leaving the hotel. :) This tip was given by the people who work there! so we took advantage. they also got kiddie bags for my 2 kids while i parked on a side street - my wife later told me. They offered suggestions on places to eat and other things. At this rate, i had faith in every suggestion given by them and it was correct. All were very friendly yet professional. I felt like VIP without paying the VIP price.

2 things - 1. internet is not free like i expect from (trending) starwood properties. 2. it's a bit of trickery but 1 bottle of water is free while the other (bigger/squirt) bottle cost. they're right by each other so it gives the illusion that both are free or both cost if you dont pay attention.

Room Tip: park on the side streets at night, but leave by 6am if you can to avoid ticketing/towing. if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear tonyshelton,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff provided you with our signature Westin service.

I look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Be inspired,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I came to the Westin as a customer from Priceline. A few friends and I were in town to run a half marathon. For starters--we got a great deal on the room so that was exciting for me. When we arrived they had us down for a King. The front desk attendant (Megan) gladly changed it to a double to accommodate our party of four. Once we got settled in our room, we discovered our refrigerator wasn't working. Upon informing the front desk of this, they sent another fridge up immediately.

Because we ran the race and then went to lunch, we needed late check-out. Again, this was no problem. On the return to the hotel we had a delay with the metro because one of the tracks was down. The hotel was flexible and allowed us to check out 30 minutes later without any flack. The rooms were clean and the staff was respectful and attentive. I would absolutely stay at this Westin again and because of my good experience would consider staying at another in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear srhoward01,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. First off, allow me to congratulate you on your half marathon! Additionally, I was so pleased to see that we were able to accomodate your wishes, and that Megan was able to provide you with our signature Westin service.

I hope to welcome you in the future.

Be inspired,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We travel a lot and, admittedly, we are hotel "snobs". Having said that, however, we know what it's like to stay in a truly nice hotel (i.e., another Starwood property in Los Angeles). While our 6-night stay at The Westin was pleasurable, it could have been nicer.
The Good: very convenient to Metro and easy-to-get-to DC location, great views from and variety of breakfast/snack offerings in the Concierge Lounge, wonderful bed and linens, fabulous multi-shower head (waterfall), clean and well-maintained premises, on-site lobby Starbucks, personable staff
The Somewhat Bad: our concierge room was quite small and minus a refrigerator, Concierge in lobby tried to be helpful but was clueless about some common questions (he didn't know what bluefish is???), breakfast offerings in Concierge Lounge often not available because they were not replenished regularly, computer printer in Concierge lounge very difficult to understand (and I'm an IT geek), very limited channel offerings on Direct TV in room
The ugly: overpriced

Room Tip: Not sure if it is worth the cost of a Concierge room in view of smallish accommodations and iffy bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear YoginiDiver,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your comments with the team regarding replenishing the food in the Club Lounge, as well as your comments regarding our Concierge. In addition, we currently do have refrigerators available to be placed in the rooms, and we are also working on a project to put refrigerators in every guest room. I am sorry about your challenges with the TV channels, and this is an issue that we are working on as well.

I hope that should your travels return you to the area, you stay with us again.

Be inspired,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Wife and I had a great time here. Clean and spacious, rooms and pool were fantastic. A lack of a free breakfast, surcharge for internet and parking however can make this hotel not worth it. If you just need a clean place to stay in a great location surrounded by lots of food options out of the expensive national mall area - perfect. If you are in need of parking, internet and breakfast - it might be best to stay elsewhere. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Wes_VC,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured that we negotiate the best prices for parking and internet fees due to our prime location.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as a family (2 adults, 6yo, 3yo) in April. Given the location the hotel is geared towards the business traveller.

The location is good with many restaurants in walking distance as well as Ballston Common and the metro station.

We had a standard room with two doubles and the size was good enough to accomodate the four of us and all of our luggage.

The rooms were nicely decorated but it didn't feel overly clean - for a relatively new hotel I did find that parts of the room showed a lot of wear and tear, particularly in the bathroom.

The coffee/tea wasn't restocked properly so we had to call to ask for certain items.

We ate in the restaurant and the staff were very nice and prices reasonable but it was a bit bothersome that the spaghetti from the kids menu came with pepper and other spices which we had to get remade. The wine list a bit sparse.

If you can get a good rate like we did (where you pay full rate for first night then birth year for subsequent nights) then you can't complain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear goinghome04,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your room and our prime location. I will communicate with the Pinzimini team regarding the children's pasta, as well as, housekeeping to ensure that the coffee/tea is properly stocked in each room. I look forward to welcoming you back to the area.

Be inspired,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Arlington Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Arlington Gateway

Address: 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#31 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Arlington Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Arlington Gateway enjoys prime access to its surrounding area. In the active Ballston area of Arlington, and just a short walk from the Ballston Metro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Arlington Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel Arlington
Arlington Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Arlington Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.