We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plusses outweighed minuses - pretty good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Save Saved
You added The Westin Arlington Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Arlington Gateway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Plusses outweighed minuses - pretty good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed there for the Inauguration weekend. Clean rooms, polite staff. A few minutes from the Ballston Metro station, and a few steps away from a mall (didn't check it out, unfortunately).
Not that I expect staff to be tripping over themselves, but other SPG hotels that I've stayed in have made me feel more welcome as a member. Also, unfortunately, wi-fi was not included. It was free in the lobby, but there was an event the evening I was there, making it awkward to hang out in the lobby. Perhaps it would have been an idea to make it free in the rooms for that evening.
Overall, a nice property. Could stay there again, ideally with more time to take in the amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Iyacom,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. I was happy to see that you experienced our signature Westin service and that you enjoyed our location. In addition, I have shared your comments with the team regarding the internet and your SPG status.

I hope that should your travels return you to the area, you choose to stay with us again!

Be well,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    218
    97
    40
    14
See reviews for
126
86
60
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the Inaugural weekend/MLK Holiday. Check in was simple and ALL the htetl staff we encountered was polite. The bed were comfortable so much i didnt want to get out of it. We had a drainage problem with the sink but they sent some one up within 15 minutes and it was fixed.It's a 5 minute walk to the Ballston Metro which takes you into DC within 10 minutes.Even with the thousands of people for the event, this was the best way to go. After lots of walking in DC, we took advantage of the hot tub each night. A mall is down the street and there are plenty of places to eat. PF Chang is directly across the street and the Green Turtle is a great place to watch the game and they have late night menu. We actually went here twice. Food is great. Will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear BigTex201060956,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway on such a memorable occasion! I was so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our prime location.

I hope that you return to stay with us in the future.

Be well,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay was charming! The hotel is located near the mall, restaurants, and the Metro! I have never seen a white bathroom so clean!The rainfall shower head and wand was a delight. I don't walk barefoot in hotel rooms unless its spotless. I could do that here. Everyone was very friendly too. The only reason the hotel doesn't have straight fives is because it houses a restaurant that serves poor food. I feel I'm very fair. And I know their restaurant may be under separate ownership/manager but at the end of the day it reflects the hotel. I would stay there again without a doubt. But I would NEVER eat in the restaurant again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear DivaLadyJ_28,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. I was so happy to see that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, and that you were pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel. I am sorry that you had a bad experience in Pinzimini. Rest assured that that is not our normal standard of food service. I have shared your comments with the restaurant team, and I have also shared your positive comments with the housekeeping team.

I hope that you visit us in the future.

Be inspired,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, RI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to DC for the inauguration in celebration of my mother's 80th birthday. In advance of our arrival I arranged for a wheelchair and for a celebratory acknowledgement from the hotel. Everything was ready when we were. The staff was extrememly accommodating, the facilities met our needs and the entire experience was a delight. The hotel was just two short blocks to the metro station and my son's apartment was less than a 2 minute walk so the location was ideal. We were able to get into DC with no worries and participate in the festivities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Linda A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway! I was so pleased to see that we were able to accomodate your wishes for such a memorable occasion.

I sincerely hope that you choose to stay with us again should your travels return you to the area.

Be well,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location. Check-in was smooth and simple. This hotel is only a 10 minute drive from Washington DC and much more affordable than hotels in DC. However, keep in mind that a cab ride to DC will cost around $15 each way or more depending on where in DC you plan to go. Also, overnight valet parking is an additional cost to keep in mind.

Service was great at the hotel. Room size was sufficient with all of the standard Westin amenities. It does look like this hotel was renovated at some point, but not 100% renovated. The ottoman that goes with the chair seems like it was not replaced during the renovation and the carpet may not have been either (or they chose to replace it with a low quality old style carpet).

Overall, good choice since it saves you money from getting a similar hotel in DC and there are also great restaurants and shops in Arlington so you don't have to go to DC for meals.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear abcd18,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. I was glad to see that you were able to enjoy our prime location and Westin amenities. Should your travels return you to the area in the future, I hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Be well,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When I arrived to the Westin Arlington Gateway, I had a less than happy front desk person assist me with my check-in process. Once I arrived to the room, it was a double bed, and my reservation guaranteed a king bed. It might have been nice had the sour front desk person bothered to even alert me or ask me about this. I had a WONDERFUL young woman who was helping with my luggage named Elizabeth. Elizabeth suggested I call and ask for another room, and when I did, the shift Manager named Joel answered the phone. Within three minutes, Joel and Elizabeth had me in a suite, continuously apologizing for the confusion. Elizabeth left to bring me my new room key cards and when she arrived with them, she had a letter from Joel with another card allowing me access to the concierge ameneties. Now, I am not an important Westin guest. In fact, I normally stay at Marriott properties and am a Gold rewards member with Marriott. But with this kind of service, I will definitely be back at Westin. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone in the Arlington, Va area. KUDOS to Joel and Elizabeth. This is great customer service in action!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Billy F,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. I was so happy to see that what could have been a negative experience was turned around by Elizabeth and Joel! I have shared your comments with the team, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Be Inspired,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I had to be in Arlington for business. I chose the Westin Arlington due to the proximity to my meeting. The rooms seem brand new with very nice, clean & modern bathrooms. I did not try the pool or gym since I was there for a short time, but the service was excellent and the business-related amenities were all you could ask for. The hotel bar is great as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at The Westin Arlington Gateway, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear cramereast,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Arlington Gateway. I was happy to see that you were able to take advantage of our meeting facilities as well as our bar in Pinzimini. I sincerely hope that should your travels return you to the area, that we are able to welcome you again.

Be well,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Arlington Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Arlington Gateway

Address: 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#24 Business Hotel in Arlington
#25 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Arlington Gateway 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Arlington Gateway enjoys prime access to its surrounding area. In the active Ballston area of Arlington, and just a short walk from the Ballston Metro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Westin Arlington Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel Arlington
Arlington Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Arlington Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.