We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops on a block of interesting restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Top Thai

Top Thai
523 23rd Street South, Arlington, VA 22202
703 521 1305
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 759 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tops on a block of interesting restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

That one block of 23rd Street is chock full of interesting family ethnic restaurants. I've been to a few and tried Top Thai on this visit. I was not disappointed! Tom Kah tasty and loaded with fresh shrimp. Drunken noodles also good and large enough to share.
If you are in any one of a number of the uber-modern Crystal City hotels, take a short walk over to 23rd street. Lots of good, inexpensive, no-pretense places.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Understated and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Small restaurant with outdoor seating. Portions are large enough to share. Friendly and efficient staff. Good for a quick lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Innerdiva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinconning, Michigan
Level Contributor
309 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Pretty good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I ordered online, and just a short time later was picking up my Pad See Ew. It was pretty good. Some of the beef was slightly tough, though most of it was fine. For about $10, the portions were significant. I though the flavor was just fine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy down-to-earth Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I admit that I'm easy to please when it comes to Thai food, but I still recommend this place. The menu offers a great variety, prices are reasonable and service is quick. I had their country style curry (no coconut milk) which had lots of veggies and something I don't ever remember having before--fresh pepper corns. It was delightfully spicy hot without drowning out the other flavors. I will go back next time I find myself in Crystal City.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank partera_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Large portions, but short on flavor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I continued my exploration of the deliberately quaint restaurants that dotted S. 23rd Street in Crystal City, and decided upon Top Thai for one of my lunches. I was attracted by the daily lunch specials, which touted a soup/salad and entrée for under $8. This was a bargain, especially for the area, so I headed into the tiny place.

I didn't really get a good look at the interior, so my impression is confined to a fleeting impression of dim lighting, a couple rows of tables, a scattering of pictures, and not much else. The weather wasn't too bad for July, so I asked my cheery server to seat me outside in the covered porch area. This had brown wooden chairs and blue-gray tables fronting the sidewalk.

I figured that, with lunch so cheap and not having so many opportunities to sample Thai beer, I'd try the Chang. The server speedily brought the bottle and a frosty glass. My verdict - weak and watery.

That day's soup was Chicken Coconut Soup; for the entrée I chose the Chicken Pad Thai. The soup arrived quickly. It was tasty and smooth, with an adequate amount of chicken chunks, but did not contain much heat despite a one-chili pepper rating on the menu. The pad thai was brought just before I finished my soup. The pile of chicken, noodles, and sprouts in the shallow bowl was substantial, especially for the price. But, again, there was not actually any flavor which could have elevated this dish to something great. Both soup and entrée were incredibly bland.

I had read about the Mango & Sticky Rice and figured I'd cap off my meal with that. A small scoop of rice and a few slices of mango glistened with a heavy sheen of liquified sugar. Now this, did have flavor, very very sweet. I ate as much as I could, but it was too much sweetness and had to leave the rest.

I'd have to rate my experience at three dots. Service was outstanding, and the lunch special deal is a rare bargain for the area. However, the dishes were devoid of any spices, maybe in order to appeal to American palates, but for me it sunk the meal down to an average rating.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank casaraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top Thai also viewed

 

Been to Top Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing