We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate here 4 of 4 days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kabob Palace

Kabob Palace
2315 South Eads Street, Arlington, VA 22202
703-486-3535
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 640 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Pakistani, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ate here 4 of 4 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Found the Kabob Palace on Yelp while staying at the Crystal City Marriott. The first visit I had the chicken kabobs which were very tender, seasoned and a nice char-grill flavor. The naan bread was freshly made large warm and tasty. I had the spinach and rice my first day also had the chickpeas, lentils on two of my four consecutive visits. A favorite of mine is haleem which they only serve on weekends, I had it Saturday for lunch, taste was perfect, only which they could skim off the oil as it settles on the top. Multiple awards are posted on the walls and I can see why this place is tops on my list. Also open 24 hours, small, and busy at times.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    90
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
480 reviews 480 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Wow, everything was really good here! This place is super close to where my sister lives and this was the first thing she recommended to me. There was a bit of a line to order but I got the food in about 30 min or so. The wait wasn't too bad I guess. All in all, whenever I'm back in DC, I will definitely be back here! I really enjoyed the food here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you are looking for kabobs and don't care about the ambience then this is the place. Wonderful kabobs with good portion size,great sides, piping hot naans and all this at a reasonable price.When I visit my son one of our meals is always here and when friends from overseas were recently visiting, this was the place to go and we were ten satisfied customers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Dishes - Friendly Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

On a recent stay at a hotel in Crystal City, we happened upon 'Kabob Palace', which was just a few blocks from our hotel. It is a sit down eatery, but it's one of those places where you place your order at the counter and are given a number. Then, you find a table and wait for them to call you back to the counter.
If it's your first trip, you may be be unfamiliar with some of the dishes' names: Peshawari Beef Burger, Kubideh Kabob, Lamb Karahi, etc. But there are also lots of familiar dishes on the menu. I tend to be adventurous, so I ordered something that I wasn't familiar with: Chapeli Kabob. It was a nicely spiced beef burger that was tightly packed into long wide strips. Very tasty. My two sides were Kabuli Chana (chickpeas) and a lightly spiced spinach and potato dish. Also included in the price ($11.36) was a huge round flatbread with a minty dipping sauce. There were plenty of drink options, but I chose a mango lassi (mango and sweet yogurt drink). Very tasty, but just a little sweeter than I am accustomed to. The wait was about 8-10 minutes, which to me is a good sign that it was being made to order, and not just sitting under a heat lamp waiting to be ordered. The patrons that day were a great mix of (mostly locals, I presume) of people from all walks of life.
On my next trip to the DC area, this place will be on my agenda.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Used to be very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The quality of food has gone down a little from last year, specially the salads and curries. Chicken with bone was also just OK. Boneless chicken or the lamb kabobs were better.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabob Palace also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Kabob Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabob Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.