We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kabob Palace

Kabob Palace
2315 South Eads Street, Arlington, VA 22202
703-486-3535
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 757 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Pakistani, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great food at very reasonable prices. Not the greatest location but the food makes up for everything.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jelahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
161 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Kabob Palace is kind of a hole in the wall in an unlikely location, BUT the food is very good and reasonably priced. If you like kabobs, I would recommend giving Kabob Palace a try.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hankwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NOt worth it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First - let's understand that the food here is not cheap. $14 for 2 kabob's is pricey! The service is terrible, you can't ask any questions, you have to wait for a very long time to get your food and once we got the food it was either undercooked, over seasoned or tough as rubber! I would not recommend this place at all. Considering it is in a hotel district you'd think they would at least be cordial...nope! When I asked a question, the man at the register just asked me what I wanted, I said I had a couple questions, he looked at me and then yelled "next please". Once we ordered it took 45 minutes to get our food - the whole time many of their "friends" came in, ordered and were handed food almost immediately! It was chaos behind the counter for everyone who wasn't a close family friend.

I plan to be in DC a lot this summer but this is not a place I will even consider returning to!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mpls001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best cheap food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I lived a few blocks away for years, and got the boneless chicken kabobs a couple of times a months. Love the spicy flavors and the bread.

Helpful?
Thank Akheritagehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Experts with the spice rack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A busy, hole-in-the-wall type of place with interesting signs and stickers on the wall to read while you’re waiting for your food order. They have a lot of tables crammed in but not enough for the popularity of the place. So after taking orders, sent the family back to the hotel and ordered it to go. Got the chicken curry special, lamb kabob, chicken kabob – no bone (how is it possible to do a kabob *with* a bone?) and the spiced ground beef kabob that I forget the name of. All the meals came with rice, a coriander sauce and a choice of side. Randomly ordered two chick peas, one lentil and one spinach as sides. It was slow for fast food but quick compared to a sit-down meal and with the kids playing in the hotel room instead of waiting impatiently with me, it wasn’t a big deal.

Flavours were amazing. The cooks know their way around an exotic spice rack! All the sides could have been considered a fabulous main course in a vegetarian restaurant. However, disappointed with my lamb that seemed more gristle than meat – and I’m a carnivore that doesn’t mind a bit of fat with my meat. Other meats didn’t have the same issue.

Please note that although the meal worked for our family your mileage may vary. We feed our kids a lot of exotic food at home but this was reaching the limits of their food comfort zone. The sides and the ground beef kabob all had some heat to them. However, as a bonus, with the large portions and sides and kids who only ate half their meals, we had enough leftovers to feed the adults another dinner the next day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Haber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabob Palace also viewed

 

Been to Kabob Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing