We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as quiet as it used to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Thai Restaurant

Crystal Thai Restaurant
4819 1st Street North, Arlington, VA 22203
703-522-1311
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #297 of 677 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not as quiet as it used to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been voing to CrystalThai for years and have been suprised recently at how busy it has become. You actually need reservations some nights. The food is as good as always but the service, while efficient, isn't as gracious as it used to be. Their delivery continues to be some of the best in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely neighborhood Thai restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice casual atmosphere, but not flip flops casual. Friendly staff. Thai ice tea (sweet) is great, as is the crispy catfish. The sauce that comes with the crispy catfish is addictive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“From NY to Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have been to Thailand and the food there is VERY spicy. At Crystal the food is very flavorful. The portions are generous and the atmosphere and wait staff are excellent. It brings back fond memories of our foreign trip.

It has an adequate parking lot as you really need to drive there. We have driven on numerous occasions from NYC. The prime purpose is something else but we find time to dine at Crystal Thai.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth the trip from anywhere in NoVA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Such excellent food in this family-run restaurant! I've never had better Thai anywhere, and I've eaten it all over the world. Drunken noodles are a must. Every time I'm in Northern Virginia I make it a point to eat here. It's easy to underestimate because it's located in a small strip mall next to an Outback Steakhouse. But if you're accessible to Route 50 in NoVA, you must go!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Thai Restaurant in Falls Church/Arlington Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Crystal Thai is an friendly, informal restaurant serving really good Thai food in the Falls Church/Arlington, Virginia area. We usually start with an appetizer such as spicy squid and then share duck, pork or seafood specialites. In season they serve excellent soft shell crab with a choice of sauces. The restaurant is open later than many in the area. Parking is no problem. They also deliver within a limited area.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.