We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai Food Reasonable Prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok 54

Bangkok 54
2919 Columbia Pike, Arlington, VA 22204
703-521-4070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 703 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The food is very good and the prices reasonable. Comfortable and elegant. Jeans are o.k. but this is a first class operation.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    37
    14
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Thai Option in Arlington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my go-to place for take-out. Bangkok 54 is the best Thai food in the Arlington area. The Panang Chicken is my dish of choice. The menu has a good variety and is priced reasonably. You can eat in the dining room or get take out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“food with a personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I love their chicken curry with butternut squash. We went with a party of 13 and everyone was satisfied with their choices. You can see that the management of this place is strong and keeps a close eye on the quality of the food. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Read the fine print: "seasoned with chili..."”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went here based on the Washingtonian list of Cheap Eats.

We ordered Green papaya salad for a shared appetizer--wow! Looking at the menu online now, I can see that most appetizers have chili sauce, or chili powder as an ingredient, but none have a little chili spicy icon, like some restaurants provide. This was a five minute burn--unpleasant! Yikes! When we told our waitress that it was too spicy, she seemed mildly amused--we were not! Finally when she came back and noticed that we were soaking our tongues in our water glasses just to delay the spicy burn, she offered, "sorry." This is a service failure on her part and for the restaurant. She could have casually mentioned that this dish was very spicy, and/or told the preparer to go easy on the chili.

After the fire went out, we ordered red curry shrimp with butternut squash (with the spoken understanding that she could make it "not spicy." We also ordered a whole fish--they offer several kinds, each with a different price that our waitress couldn't quote without checking with the manager.

Both dishes were very good--the whole flounder with a sweet & sour sauce on the side was very nice.

So, I guess you get the drift--beware of the five-alarm chili, and, well, beware of what seems to be a service problem.

BTW, I gave this place a 4, because the food is very good, and we will probably go back some time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently moved from Tysons to Arlington and have eaten here multiple times in the last few weeks due to lack of food in the house. The food is incredible, and consistently good. Traditional dishes such as the Drunken Noodle are absolutely perfect, whether you choose the spicy or non-spicy version. Portion sizes are robust.

Their seasonal dishes are great too. Currently, they have a squash (and chicken) red curry dish that is out of this world.

In some cases, I recommend dining in; as an example, the curry dish mentioned above comes with a salad but only when dining in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok 54 also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok 54, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.