We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food with a personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok 54

Bangkok 54
2919 Columbia Pike, Arlington, VA 22204
703-521-4070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 689 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“food with a personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I love their chicken curry with butternut squash. We went with a party of 13 and everyone was satisfied with their choices. You can see that the management of this place is strong and keeps a close eye on the quality of the food. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IntransitDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Read the fine print: "seasoned with chili..."”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went here based on the Washingtonian list of Cheap Eats.

We ordered Green papaya salad for a shared appetizer--wow! Looking at the menu online now, I can see that most appetizers have chili sauce, or chili powder as an ingredient, but none have a little chili spicy icon, like some restaurants provide. This was a five minute burn--unpleasant! Yikes! When we told our waitress that it was too spicy, she seemed mildly amused--we were not! Finally when she came back and noticed that we were soaking our tongues in our water glasses just to delay the spicy burn, she offered, "sorry." This is a service failure on her part and for the restaurant. She could have casually mentioned that this dish was very spicy, and/or told the preparer to go easy on the chili.

After the fire went out, we ordered red curry shrimp with butternut squash (with the spoken understanding that she could make it "not spicy." We also ordered a whole fish--they offer several kinds, each with a different price that our waitress couldn't quote without checking with the manager.

Both dishes were very good--the whole flounder with a sweet & sour sauce on the side was very nice.

So, I guess you get the drift--beware of the five-alarm chili, and, well, beware of what seems to be a service problem.

BTW, I gave this place a 4, because the food is very good, and we will probably go back some time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WineloverVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently moved from Tysons to Arlington and have eaten here multiple times in the last few weeks due to lack of food in the house. The food is incredible, and consistently good. Traditional dishes such as the Drunken Noodle are absolutely perfect, whether you choose the spicy or non-spicy version. Portion sizes are robust.

Their seasonal dishes are great too. Currently, they have a squash (and chicken) red curry dish that is out of this world.

In some cases, I recommend dining in; as an example, the curry dish mentioned above comes with a salad but only when dining in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roobifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The Thai food gives you the option to be as authentic and spicy as you can handle. The seafood is very well done, the hot woks are fresh and pack a punch and the appetizers are generous. Go at happy hour and it is super cheap. My favorite is e spicy eggplant. Take out or eat in, this one will not disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank Urbanfarmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food at an excellent price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This place is really a great find for any Thai food lovers out there! The food is delicious and the servers are very helpful if you need any advice, but you shouldn't need it because everything is excellent. What makes it even better, the prices are really reasonable allowing for a tasty meal at a great price. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok 54 also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing