We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent Thai food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok 54

Bangkok 54
2919 Columbia Pike, Arlington, VA 22204
703-521-4070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 690 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently moved from Tysons to Arlington and have eaten here multiple times in the last few weeks due to lack of food in the house. The food is incredible, and consistently good. Traditional dishes such as the Drunken Noodle are absolutely perfect, whether you choose the spicy or non-spicy version. Portion sizes are robust.

Their seasonal dishes are great too. Currently, they have a squash (and chicken) red curry dish that is out of this world.

In some cases, I recommend dining in; as an example, the curry dish mentioned above comes with a salad but only when dining in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    14
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The Thai food gives you the option to be as authentic and spicy as you can handle. The seafood is very well done, the hot woks are fresh and pack a punch and the appetizers are generous. Go at happy hour and it is super cheap. My favorite is e spicy eggplant. Take out or eat in, this one will not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food at an excellent price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This place is really a great find for any Thai food lovers out there! The food is delicious and the servers are very helpful if you need any advice, but you shouldn't need it because everything is excellent. What makes it even better, the prices are really reasonable allowing for a tasty meal at a great price. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA, USA
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very, very, very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Where to start.... spicy tofu - amazing. Duck - amazing. Spring rolls, fried rice - great. The service is always friendly and the dining area is nicely decorated. This is certainly one of the best values you can find - on a scale from 1 to 10, you get food that is an 8 and you pay the same amount for food that is half that quality elsewhere. I've never had drinks here, but am told they are pretty great.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“My favorite Thai for takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I enjoy takeout or delivery from this restaurant almost too much! (I've only dined-in twice, but have had takeout or delivery dozens of times.) I like every dish I've had there; tasty, moderately-spiced (you can go hotter) typical Thai-menu dishes at good prices. (There are other, smaller Thai restaurants in the area that probably offer more "authentic" - less common - dishes as well.) The restaurant is handsomely decorated for dine-in. Parking can be a challenge, as there are many popular spots along this stretch of Columbia Pike. For locals in their delivery area, I've found the delivery times always faster than the quoted 45 minutes, and I've not had a mistake in a delivery yet. (Something I can't say about, for instance, the national pizza chain delivery in my area.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok 54 also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok 54, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.