We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Bistro

Village Bistro
1723 Wilson Blvd, Colonial Village, Arlington, VA 22209-2503
703-522-0284
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 654 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Richmond, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This place has the hardest working owner in the business. Clearly he loves his work.
The food is great and the atmosphere funky and comfortable. I had the seared ahi tuna. It was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    48
    28
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food and there's parking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This a hidden gem. Spouse ordered calf's liver, bacon and onions and I had spinach and cheese ravioli. Outstanding atmosphere,food and service. Not expensive. We had our own "happy hour" at the hotel and walked a block and wanted water with dinner. The bill was he bill was $37! Extensive menu-seafood, beef, pasta, salad, good bread, Evoo,balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper cellars. Easy, casual, delicious, satisfying...and as a bonus, there's pull in-not parallel parking. Put on your list. Ask for Frank, the owner and expect an elegant gentleman. This place suits him.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice lunch with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My college roommate and his wife were in DC for a meeting and we had decided to get together for lunch before dropping them off at National Airport on the 1st of October. My wife suggested Village Bistro in Arlington as we have had many great meals with friends there in the past. This time was no exception.
We all started off with small luncheon salads, followed by fresh seafood and pasta. I had the seafood combination of shrimp, mussels and scallops with a spicy tomato based sauce,as did my friend. His wife had a vegetable pasta dish, while my wife had mussels in white wine sauce. The portions were just the perfect size for the luncheon occasion. Staff service was attentive, as always, and the quality of our meal was excellent. My wife and our guests had a glass of wine late in the meal , while I, as the DD, stayed with iced tea.
This was the perfect send off for our friends who come to visit us yearly. They really enjoyed the fare and the atmosphere was great.
The one slight problem we encountered was that we had a little visitor as we were finishing up. There was a bug of some sort that came on to the table, which l quickly dispatch of. After further examination, it was a small cockroach. I asked our waiter to come over and view the critter. He was very apologetic and said that the burger joint next door was closing and the space was being renovated for another type of short order venue. He explained that the restaurant had been having many such occurrences since the changes started next door and was so sorry. He took off the charge for the wines, which was appropriate in this situation. This was a very small distraction to our wonderful lunch. We have never encountered any problems dining here and we cast off the bug incident as described by the waiter. Village Bistro still remains one of our favorite dining venues in the DC area. We will keep bringing our friends and out of town guests to enjoy this gem of a restaurant in Arlington, VA.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food like northern italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Found this close to hotel in small shopping center. Renaldo was our waiter. Had wonderful salads with house made dressings, mussels with spicy pomodpro, "small" plate of fine sustainably caught halibut. Owner was very aware of all customers. Wish it were in my home

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Quirky but Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After much TripAdvisor searching for a place to have Italian close to our Rosslyn hotel location, I zeroed in on this place. We almost missed it walking by because of the small strip mall location and the menu was somewhat different than what we saw on TripAdvisor - we weren't actually sure we were in the right place. We walked in about six PM on a Saturday night and got a table immediately (very quiet weekend in DC area). Our server was enthusiastic and friendly but the service was a bit uneven for such a quiet night.

We shared a Caprese salad, he had the ravioli, I had the veal piccata (with mashed potatoes and perfectly cooked carrots, green beans, etc. on the side) and we shared the pistacio cheese cake. Just delicious! Highly recommend and I hope I'm back in the area some day so I can eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Village Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.