We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Bistro

Village Bistro
1723 Wilson Blvd, Colonial Village, Arlington, VA 22209-2503
703-522-0284
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Village Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 676 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Old Greenwich CT
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“This is a treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

In an unprepossessing shopping center sits this gem of a restaurant. My colleagues and i enjoyed king salmon, escargots, liver and skirt steak, each well prepared and delicious. We did not have a reservation, but were treated by the owner as if we were frequent diners, not just visitors from out of town. The small plates are a treat. And, the prices are excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    51
    32
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great fettuccini”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had some awesome fettuccini with mushrooms. Husband had grilled fish trio salad. Dressing was very good. Service was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Everything made from scratch and you can tell it. Excellent food!!! Good service, good wine, nice atmosphere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms Rier
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family and I were visiting the DC area to bury my mother in law at Arlington Cemetery in July 2013. We were looking for a restaurant to have lunch afterwards with the family. About twenty us. All the restaurants in the area closed at 2 and did not reopen until 5. We were looking for 3:00 lunch. We contacted several restaurants about staying open later for us. They all said no except for the Village Bistro. My husband and I had dinner there a few days before to see how it was. Well.. Let me tell you it was fabulous! The ambiance was wonderful and the food was incredible. A great menu with many choices. Needless to say we booked it. I can't even express how wonder and accommodating they were! The owner of the restaurant was there the whole time and was so kind and thoughtful and treated us like family. Everyone loved their meals and the desserts too! Loved that it was in a strip mall and we could park our car there for free and did not have to look for parking. Plus they have out door dining as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“With a slight uptick in service, this would be an all 5 restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

First, the food is fantastic and I would absolutely go back. My veal chop was magnificent and my daughter's lobster ravioli was terrific. The atmosphere was lovely. But there were little mistakes in service. No steak knife with a veal chop. No tea refills when glasses were empty. A request for another glass of Pinot ignored. The owner came to the table and was remarkably gracious. He needs his staff to be as attentive as he is to the food, the ambience, and his customers. If so, this would get Ricky Bob's highest rating. Most important, the food was terrific!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Village Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.