We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Bistro

Village Bistro
1723 Wilson Blvd, Colonial Village, Arlington, VA 22209-2503
703-522-0284
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Village Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 686 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We come to the Northern Va area every other month to see our grandkids. We couldn't book our normal hotel near Tyson's so ended up in Arlington. Found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and Open table.What a gem! Yes, it is a hot place and busy.It is also small. The owner greeted us, and considering it was a Friday night, and they had 3 large tables, we had no delay from the kitchen. The food was wonderful and unusual combinations. They fly in fresh fish (like 25 varieties) from Hawaii. The veal was excellent. One of the few places that do sautéed calamari that was yummy. One of the best Caesar salads...dressing was mouth watering. I would leave the kids at home as it is small and would be annoying to others.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We discovered the Village Bistro by accident about 5 years ago, when our daughter started attending Georgetown University. We make it a point to eat there every time we visit, so I'd say we've been there 9 or 10 times now. They never fail to disappoint.

We ate there most recently last night. The place was packed, so we were glad we had reservations. The owner always recognizes us when we visit, which is remarkable because it can be months between visits. We were seated promptly, and ordered. Everyone in our group loved the food. The service can be a little spotty when they get overwhelmed but no major problems. They get everything right the first time. The ladies all had seafood, I had veal parm, which was excellent as usual. The rack of lamb is also excellent when they have it.

This is a consistently good restaurant with excellent food.. I just wish they were closer or would open a branch in NY.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“My favorite neighborhood place-try the fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I live in the neighborhood, within walking distance, so perhaps I am a bit bias. However, I have been eating here for 15 years or more and it never disappoints. It's a casually elegant, somewhat hidden gem. Fish is the star here. The menu is full of it and it is what I almost always order. But the steak is worth a try, prepared French style. And the pastas are delicious as well. The "Small Dish" menu offers smaller portions that are just right. The staff is very accomadating and will go to great lengths to customize dishes. Best of all you can sit and chat with your dinner companions for hours and no one will care.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food but almost comical how the waiters and waitresses managed to avoid seeing customers waiving for their attention.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice little restaurant in a strip mall in the heart of Arlington. They have parking which is half the battle!

Eclectic dishes but very cool. Nice atmosphere. Food was well prepared and plated. Service was good when they can but getting them to come to the table was a challenge. I was considering semaphores or smoke signals as my mother at one point and my father at another are waiving their arms over their heads in a desperate attempt to get the attention of any person on the wait staff!

BTW - watch out for the coffee which is served in individual teapots that are almost sure to make a mess. Clever idea but not so good in execution.

Bottom line - Great food but almost comical how the waiters and waitresses managed to see customers needing their attention. Didn't I see that in a Restaurant Makeover program?

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food. Fusty atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The menu was a bit confusing but the waiter turned up trumps with his advice. Food delicious but ambience a bit odd and not helped by fusty smell in area.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Village Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.