We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down to Earth but Elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Bistro

Village Bistro
1723 Wilson Blvd, Colonial Village, Arlington, VA 22209-2503
703-522-0284
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Village Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 675 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
W. Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Down to Earth but Elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A gem, located in a strip mall, but in a desirable location. Some restaurants go over the top with pretense, but at Village Bistro you can have a very good straight forward meal without the flamboyance that some restaraunteurs seem to think customers prefer. The bread - homemade - was delightful, good crust, moist and chewy inside. The soups - carrot/ginger and butternut squash - were excellent. Wines by the glass were very good as were the main courses, chicken and fish. Several desserts on offer were all tempting, and the one we shared was very good, as was the coffee. We're going back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    53
    32
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this place. Our food was excellent. The best fried calamari I ever had... seriously!!! My pasta was exceptional, my mom's chicken was prepared perfectly. We were so full that we could not try any deserts... my only regret!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good cheer and good food on Christmas Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Decided not to cook this year and searched for a homey restaurant that would be open on Christmas. Didn't want a hotel. Not too many choices, but remembered good meals at this little place over the years and decided to try it. The place was cozily decorated for the holidays and about half full on Christmas afternoon. The service was very friendly and attentive and the menu offered everything one could wish, including a couple vegetarian options. My companion enjoyed his prime rib and I my omelet and salad, although the omelet could have used more herbal seasoning. Good, chewy homemade bread. As others have posted, it's probably best not to eat here if you are in a rush. We waited about 30 minutes for our meal, but we didn't mind because we wanted to relax and enjoy the ambiance and each other's company.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very good restaurant. Great ambience too. Went looking for a casual meal and saw things like chicken parm on the online menu. When we got there, they handed us special menus. We had to ask if they had chicken parm and they brought out their normal menus. Glad they did since the normal menu had a very delicious salad with chicken. The chicken parm was good too. Service was good and the atmosphere was neat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply adorable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a hidden gem only locals would know. I am fortunate my friend took me there while I was training in DC. The atmosphere could not be more inviting, pleasant and relaxed. The food was very good and my only regret was I did not stay long enough in DC to try other things. I ordered a Bloody Caesar (which is not the same as Bloody Mary), and to my delight, they actually did have clamatos!! I liked the fact they have small plates which is perfect for me. The prices were a bargain considering what you get. I've been to many very good restaurants, but never to a place like this. It truly lift your spirits. This is the 1st time in my life eating in restaurant that we ended engaging a conversation with the table next to us. By all accounts I had a wonderful time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Village Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.