We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Tastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thaiphoon Restaurant

Thaiphoon Restaurant
1301 South Joyce St, Pentagon Row, Arlington, VA 22202
703-413-8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 643 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thai Tastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I traveled to Arlington regularly for four years and Thaiphoon became my Sunday dinner mainstay. The pad thai is second to none, the appetizers are incredible, and the menu has even more! Beautifully decorated restaurant, nice new bar and friendly staff. You get what you pay for and this really is the best and worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Okay Thai Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The restaurant is located in Pentagon Row, just behind the Pentagon City Shopping Center so it is accessible by car or Metro. Great location. The food is a little uneven in quality, however. We had an appetizer that was curried potatoes in a wonton wrapper that was delicious. My husband had a seafood dish with mussels and squid that he said was very tasty and fresh. My dish was a spicy chicken dish. The sauce was very good and the ingredients were fresh, but the chicken was very overcooked. I had trouble cutting it with my fork. The service was okay, nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yummy Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I used to live in the area, and was back for work. I raced to one of my favs and it didn't disappoint. I always get Spicy Beef Salad and Chicken Panang and Thai restaurants and at Thaiphoon they were heaven!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced, 'pretend' Thai food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is one of those restaurants where many of the customers aren't Asian, but one that has more of a hipster vibe where people like to say that they had Thai food here. The happy hour is decent (it's hard to have a bad happy hour) and the food was verryyyy salty. Not good. For nearby Thai food, I'd recommend Urban Thai -- they even deliver!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Good variety of Thai food. Good range of mild to extra spicy dishes. Decent selection of wines by the glass. Good customer service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaiphoon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thaiphoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thaiphoon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.