We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Tastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thaiphoon Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thaiphoon Restaurant
1301 South Joyce St, Pentagon Row, Arlington, VA 22202
703-413-8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 683 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thai Tastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I traveled to Arlington regularly for four years and Thaiphoon became my Sunday dinner mainstay. The pad thai is second to none, the appetizers are incredible, and the menu has even more! Beautifully decorated restaurant, nice new bar and friendly staff. You get what you pay for and this really is the best and worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    15
    11
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Okay Thai Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The restaurant is located in Pentagon Row, just behind the Pentagon City Shopping Center so it is accessible by car or Metro. Great location. The food is a little uneven in quality, however. We had an appetizer that was curried potatoes in a wonton wrapper that was delicious. My husband had a seafood dish with mussels and squid that he said was very tasty and fresh. My dish was a spicy chicken dish. The sauce was very good and the ingredients were fresh, but the chicken was very overcooked. I had trouble cutting it with my fork. The service was okay, nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Yummy Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I used to live in the area, and was back for work. I raced to one of my favs and it didn't disappoint. I always get Spicy Beef Salad and Chicken Panang and Thai restaurants and at Thaiphoon they were heaven!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced, 'pretend' Thai food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is one of those restaurants where many of the customers aren't Asian, but one that has more of a hipster vibe where people like to say that they had Thai food here. The happy hour is decent (it's hard to have a bad happy hour) and the food was verryyyy salty. Not good. For nearby Thai food, I'd recommend Urban Thai -- they even deliver!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Good variety of Thai food. Good range of mild to extra spicy dishes. Decent selection of wines by the glass. Good customer service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaiphoon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thaiphoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thaiphoon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.