We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Neighborhood Restaurant With Terrific Thai Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Noy Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #17 of 677 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly Neighborhood Restaurant With Terrific Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

In an unassuming strip center, you walk into Thai Noy and it's like you've walked into a friend's house. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff, including the owner, greet you. There's quite a variety of menu items. My preferences: Crispy Rolls (or Spring Rolls especially during the summer), Mekong Chicken or the Salmon Special. No matter, you'll likely have tomorrow's lunch (or dinner) to take home, the portions are that generous. Thai Noy has a limited beer list and they try new wines regularly, so check out the selection. Just like at a good friend's house, you'll walk out happy to have made the visit.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“As Good As Laos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife is Thai, I was also stationed on the Thai/Laotian border for two years. The cuisine and area is referred to as Isaan, generally the spiciest, and now very popular. We go back every year for weeks or months at a time. My son and his family recently moved to Arlington, and he told me of a great local Thai restaurant, run by a Lao.
The six of us went there last friday-and it was fantastic!
The dishes were very authentic, cooked the traditional way, with no obvious shortcuts.
We had the Gai Yang (chicken) with sticky rice, and som tam (papaya salad), all were delicious, and the portions were exceptional for a Thai restaurant. We also had Rad Nah( stir fried wide noodles with chicken and vegetables in a sauce)-excellent. Sea food cow pad (fried rice) exceptional! not greasey at all, not overcooked. We also had a Yum Moo (wild boar) salad, which was reccomended-it was wonderful.
We live in the Los Angeles area-and this place beats most restaurants in Thai Town!
The decor is very nice, and the service was helpful, although they were busy.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
“We can't resist it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We've been going here for years and take all our out-of-town friends here as well. This place is one of those best-kept secrets ... they don't advertise and they're kind of tucked away in the Westover neighborhood. The Peninsula YumYum salad is to die for, and I always get the fresh spring rolls as well. I'm addicted to Thai Noy -- and believe me, I've tried plenty of other Thai restaurants in this city and others. I recently ate with friends at a Thai place in Georgetown of all places, and the food was absolutely tasteless (and expensive!).

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We live nearby and eat in the restaurant or get take out at least 3 times a month. The food is excellent. My husband loves their salmon special and they are kind enough to make it for him even when it is not listed as a special. I love their mekong peanut sauce and as I am a vegetarian, I very much appreciate that they will substitute tofu for the meat in just about any dish. My kids love their Crying Tiger appetizer as well as their Pad Thai. The decor is very relaxing, with peaceful and serene scenes all around. Two brothers own the place and treat their guests with great care. Can't say enough good things about Thai Noy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
1 review
“The best Thai in Northern Virginia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Thai Noy is hands down the best Thai restaurant that I have ever been to. Having formerly lived down the street from the restaurant, my husband and I would order dinner from Thai Noy at least three times a week. The food was consistently excellent and wonderfully prepared according to our specifications (very, very spicy!) The staff was very warm and welcoming, and they always greeted us by name. Having been spoiled with outstanding Thai food for many years, I am very sad that I now live in Charleston where there is absolutely nothing comparable. I am seriously considering a weekend trip back to Arlington for the just to get a "fix" of Thai Noy's Drunken Noodles and Pad Prik.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Noy Restaurant also viewed

 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to Thai Noy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Noy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.