We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Get-together restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant

Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant
2457 N. Harrison Street, Arlington, Arlington, VA 22207
703-534-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 692 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Sushi Chef and owner, Shoji Mochizuki, opened Sushi Zen Japanese Restaurant in 1997. It is conveniently located in the Lee-Harrison Shopping Center, in the heart of North Arlington, Virginia. Featured in the Washingtonian Cheap Eats Magazine, The Washington Post, as well as two time winner of Northern Virginia Living's TOP 50 Restaurants in Northern Virginia, Sushi-Zen offers a relaxed family environment. The sushi bar provides a variety of Japanese delicacies - made fresh to order - including a wide variety of sushi and sashimi artistically prepared and presented on their well-recognized hand-carved wooden fishing boats, complete with masts, ranging from small to large. Sushi-Zen Celebrates SEVENTEEN Years in Business 1997-2014
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Get-together restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a wonderful meal with a variety of sushi. We purchased the 'Large Platter', which probably should have fed a couple of more people than it did! Warm atmosphere, good service--a very nice experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie G, Owner at Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello David! We're so thrilled to hear that you had a great experience at Sushi-Zen, and that you and your family left full and happy! Thank you for taking the time to review us. Come back anytime - we'll be glad to serve you! Best, the Sushi-Zen team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Best quality, quantity, and value for Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Have been eating here for many years. Always friendly service and delicious food. If you are by yourself, sit at the Sushi bar and chat with the chefs.

Marty M

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie G, Owner at Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review, Marty! We're honored to have earned your loyalty over the years. We pride ourselves on providing delicious food and fantastic service, so your comments are greatly appreciated. Can't wait to see you again! Best, the Sushi-Zen team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great Sushi - Great Lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I eat at Sushi Zen about 2 times per month. It's a local joint and consistently friendly whenever I go. A few things to brag about:
1) The food portions are great - if you're spending $10 on a specialty roll, you want you money's worth and here you get it
2) Speed - For lunch or dinner I never have to wait more than about 10-15 minutes for my food to come out. So often in a sushi restaurant they back up - but not here (at least for me)
3) Lunch special - I LOVE their lunch specials. There's a rotating schedule of Bento box lunches available depending on the day of the week - for between $10 and $12 dollars. It includes a california roll, tempura, and 3 pieces of sushi. Plus a salad and miso soup. That's the best $10 lunch going in town - it's plenty of food and i would gladly spend more to get it.

The staff is friendly and quick, and as long as they don't change things - I'm going to be a loyal fan for life.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie G, Owner at Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words, dgabor! We're thrilled to hear that you love our food, especially our lunch specials! We work hard to provide excellent food and service, so it's rewarding to hear that you have such a great all-around experience when you visit us. Hope to see you again for lunch very soon! Best, the Sushi-Zen team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our favorite local sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our favorite local place for sushi -- the food is great and the service is friendly. We love their rolls made with brown rice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie G, Owner at Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us, Charles! We’re proud to be your favorite sushi restaurant in the area! We love hearing about our customers’ favorite dishes, so thank you for sharing how much your enjoyed our brown rice rolls. We look forward to serving you again soon! Best, the Sushi-Zen team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Family-oriented Sushi in the DC Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have been coming to this place for the last 4 years and still love it. Their quality is 2nd to none and the wait staff is very poilte and attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie G, Owner at Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Caribenzao, Thank you for your wonderful review! We’re thrilled to have such a loyal customer in you, and it has been a pleasure serving you over the years. We look forward to another visit from you soon. Best, the Sushi-Zen team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.