We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Vegetarian Options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Diner Clarendon

Silver Diner Clarendon
3200 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201
703 812 8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 692 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: At Silver Diner, we're much more than a diner. Whether you choose a classic dish or a vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free option, Executive Chef Ype Von Hengst has created a menu of customizable, healthier choices that all share one thing: the highest quality, all-natural ingredients available.Silver Diner is proud to be a key part of the local community, nurturing it's growth, providing food for healthier lifestyles, and supporting local schools and non-profits. With a menu that features more than 15 local farms that support sustainable agriculture, Chef Ype creates seasonal dishes using the freshest ingredients available within our local region.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots of Vegetarian Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have eaten here several times and as a vegetarian, I have to say their food selection is quite good! They have many dishes that are vegetarian and gluten free and the service has always been friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    53
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do NOT go if you have food allergies”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Not safe for food allergies but looked like fun for other diners. There was a kids menu, a juke box on our table and lots of kid friendly touches like a cardboard car.

There is a small parking lot but its a nice looking building with a pleasant lobby area.

The employees not only did NOT understand food allergies but became angry when we asked questions.

I tried to order food for my nut allergic child and the waiter kept saying "there's no nuts in the restaurant why do you keep asking." Well I'm looking at a menu listing peanuts, walnuts, hazelnuts, pine nuts and so I KNOW that there are nuts in the restaurant.

He became angry the third time I tried to explain that she would get sick if she had nuts in her food and so I gave up and just ordered water and juice for her. Unfortunately, then I saw black specks in her water glass and asked for a new one. He said in a loud sarcastic tone "there's no peanuts in there".

I will never return and would highly recommend no one with food allergies go to this location.

That said I noticed that the restaurant was good with kids and my kids enjoyed visiting it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food wit great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Never seen a pesto burger on a menu so I had to try it it was so good to bad we don't have a place like this back home

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Favorite Diner Chain in the DMV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Unique, locally sourced foods with an eclectic menu of delicious options. I love the salmon sliders, the goat cheese bruschetta, the bison burgers and of course all of their shakes are great. My nieces and nephews love that there is a page in the jukebox dedicated to kids music. Totally recommended!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Solid Food at Reasonable Prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

As far as Diner's go, the Silver Diner is one of my favorites. They do their best to use fresh locally grown veggies and meats. I eat there fairly often and can honestly say, that I've never had a bad meal!
Great place for families as they have an extensive menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Diner Clarendon also viewed

 

Been to Silver Diner Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Diner Clarendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.