We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, just great steaks! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's the Steaks

Ray's the Steaks
2300 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209
703-841-7297
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 645 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“No frills, just great steaks! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great place for steaks! The steaks are masterfully cooked and the service is top notch! The keeper of the wine list is mindful of pairing the kitchen's offerings with great wines from the best wine areas of the world... France, Spain, California, and Italy. Be sure to save room for the house made key lime pie!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    168
    79
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I don't get it. Steaks are good, but the service is weak, there is no bar and no liquor (what "steak house" doesn't offer the perfect pairing to a steak, a freaking martini?), the atmosphere is kind of pathetic (the guy next to us was wearing a Virginia Tech camo hat, and the place looks like it was set up yesterday, in a hotel lobby), and the menu is noticeably limited. So I don't get it. Why is this place a mainstay? Perhaps because it was the only place in town for years, and therefore was, relatively, good? Not sure. But as the area continues to grow up, I would be surprised if it remained so.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Better than Morton's or Ruth's Chris. A local 'best of' because it is a personal mission of excellence rather than 'just' a fantastic franchise.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing steaks, amazing service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The steaks are some of the best I've ever had. I've been here three times and tried a different one each time. This most recent visit, I tried the Diablo Aged steak. I had no idea, prior to coming to this restaurant for the first time, that aged steaks were a thing people did. Well, Ray's does, and they do it exceptionally. Incredible flavor and cooked perfectly to my liking every time. Their prices are very acceptable considering the service you receive as a guest and the quality of the food and the environment within the restaurant. It's also just off the Blue/Orange line, so it's very easy to get to. It's just a few blocks away from the Courthouse Metro station.

End of story - this restaurant is absolutely worth a visit and worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We enjoyed steaks cooked perfectly and family style dishes of mashed potatoes, creamed spinach, and tender crisp broccoli. The desserts were tasty as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's the Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Ray's the Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's the Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.