We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good dry aged steaks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's the Steaks

Ray's the Steaks
2300 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209
703-841-7297
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 653 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good dry aged steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have to say even though it was a bit pricey, the dry aged steaks here were better than any I've had in DC or NOLA or anywhere I've been. We went to a supposedly upper class DC restaurant right by the capitol the next night and didn't enjoy the food nearly as much as this place! Even though they didn't have a bar to sit at while we waited for our guests (we went next door to a sports bar bc we were early) it was still a great dining experience!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    229
    113
    59
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This restaurant was terrific. Aged steaks, terrific crab bisque and a lump crab entree to die for. Creamed spinach and mashed potatoes come with the steak. Don't skip the chocolate mousse--it was great too! Ask for Chris for excellent service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lousy Customer Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

When only 16 of our party of 18 were waiting, they would not seat us. Two of the members of the party were stuck in traffic. When we asked if we could change the reservation, which was at 6:30, we were told that we would have to wait until 9:30. What restaurant would turn away 16 people? They also would not give you a second cup of coffee. They just seem to ignore you so you'll leave. We'll never go back and would advise people to stay away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hard to get Reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When visiting family in Virginia recently, our daughter made reservations for Ray's because friends had recommended it. The atmosphere was warm and much better than what we imagined it would be. Although everyone else was having steak since it is their specialty, after reading reviews, I knew I would not be disappointed in ordering the Crab Royale. It was as wonderful as I could have hoped. Starters at the table included their great wedge salad, my Caesar and daughter's crab bisque. Unlike other steak houses, mashed potatoes and creamed spinach were were served family style and included in the prices. Others at the table ordered the Heart Rib Eye, Petite Filet and a Delmonico. Our helpful waiter suggested ordering the steaks more cooked than what we usually order and he was right on the money. Everyone's steak was cooked a perfect medium rare.

Since none of our group of four had been there previously, parking was a challenge since our choice was either parking on the street on a busy Friday night or a parking garage. After circling the block numerous times, we decided to park in the Navy League Building which is adjacent to the restaurant. Upon leaving however, our driver's credit card was gobbled by the "parking pay machine" and the attendant at the desk on the upper floor was unable to help us retrieve it. He went home and canceled his card!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This has to be the best steak restaurant in the DC area. It has a great casual environment (I was dressed up and the guy eating next to us looked like a lumberjack - so anything goes here) and very friendly staff, willing to answer any and all questions. The steaks were beyond delicious and the sides were excellent. I highly recommend the mac and cheese When you spend $100 on dinner you want it to be perfect... Ray's won't disappoint.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's the Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Ray's the Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's the Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.