We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good dry aged steaks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's the Steaks

Ray's the Steaks
2300 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209
703-841-7297
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ray's the Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 755 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good dry aged steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have to say even though it was a bit pricey, the dry aged steaks here were better than any I've had in DC or NOLA or anywhere I've been. We went to a supposedly upper class DC restaurant right by the capitol the next night and didn't enjoy the food nearly as much as this place! Even though they didn't have a bar to sit at while we waited for our guests (we went next door to a sports bar bc we were early) it was still a great dining experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank marajade418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This restaurant was terrific. Aged steaks, terrific crab bisque and a lump crab entree to die for. Creamed spinach and mashed potatoes come with the steak. Don't skip the chocolate mousse--it was great too! Ask for Chris for excellent service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanB1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lousy Customer Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

When only 16 of our party of 18 were waiting, they would not seat us. Two of the members of the party were stuck in traffic. When we asked if we could change the reservation, which was at 6:30, we were told that we would have to wait until 9:30. What restaurant would turn away 16 people? They also would not give you a second cup of coffee. They just seem to ignore you so you'll leave. We'll never go back and would advise people to stay away.

Helpful?
Thank Rick7211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hard to get Reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When visiting family in Virginia recently, our daughter made reservations for Ray's because friends had recommended it. The atmosphere was warm and much better than what we imagined it would be. Although everyone else was having steak since it is their specialty, after reading reviews, I knew I would not be disappointed in ordering the Crab Royale. It was as wonderful as I could have hoped. Starters at the table included their great wedge salad, my Caesar and daughter's crab bisque. Unlike other steak houses, mashed potatoes and creamed spinach were were served family style and included in the prices. Others at the table ordered the Heart Rib Eye, Petite Filet and a Delmonico. Our helpful waiter suggested ordering the steaks more cooked than what we usually order and he was right on the money. Everyone's steak was cooked a perfect medium rare.

Since none of our group of four had been there previously, parking was a challenge since our choice was either parking on the street on a busy Friday night or a parking garage. After circling the block numerous times, we decided to park in the Navy League Building which is adjacent to the restaurant. Upon leaving however, our driver's credit card was gobbled by the "parking pay machine" and the attendant at the desk on the upper floor was unable to help us retrieve it. He went home and canceled his card!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rekilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This has to be the best steak restaurant in the DC area. It has a great casual environment (I was dressed up and the guy eating next to us looked like a lumberjack - so anything goes here) and very friendly staff, willing to answer any and all questions. The steaks were beyond delicious and the sides were excellent. I highly recommend the mac and cheese When you spend $100 on dinner you want it to be perfect... Ray's won't disappoint.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank soy_latte_togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's the Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Ray's the Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing