We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's the Steaks

Ray's the Steaks
2300 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209
703-841-7297
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 654 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ray's the Steaks is in the exploding Clarendon / Courthouse area of Arlington, VA. The setting is non-discript, but the attentiveness of staff, the range of the selections, the quality of the food (esp. the steaks) and the incedible value for the portions makes this a NoVA must. I have been there twice and came away both satisfied and well-fed. As good a meal as places with 3X the price tage.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    229
    113
    59
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“expensive steakhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

the food was good but no atmosphere for the prices I like ruth chris if
I am paying high dollar on food the atmosphere much better and our service was great

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Steak for a Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ray's the Steaks' steaks are as good as Ruth's Chris, but you'll spend less. They have a wide variety of steaks for every taste and appetite. I had the NY Strip Special with crab bisque. All the meals come with family style mashed potatoes and creamed spinach. I'm not a creamed spinach fan, but the mashed potatoes were very good as was my 12oz NY Strip. I may go back tonight.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

When my wife and I tried “Ray’s the Steaks” with a visiting friend, I opted for what seemed to be a signature dish – the T-bone from the “dry aged cuts,” which the menu describes as “peerless flavor and texture, for the true connoisseur, aged in house 45 days, butchered and hand trimmed daily.” At $41, it was the most expensive dish (with the exception of some selections for two). What I found was a steak that had quite a bit of gristle that I had to cut around, and meat that really was not so flavorful or exceptionally tender. Too late, I realized that I should have tried one of the restaurant’s New York strip or rib-eye steaks, which is what I usually choose. Despite the disappointing initial foray, I’m willing to go back to check out another steak, perhaps the “Cajun rib-eye.”

The sherried crab bisque was richly flavored, creamy, and with good-sized chunks of crab, a real stand-out like the waitress promised. Management seems to have taken previous criticisms to heart, since patrons can now make table reservations. I was told that a table was only available at 6:00 a.m. or after 9:00, so we took the earlier seating. We were led immediately to our table, and our dishes were delivered quite quickly. My wife and our friend were a bit embarrassed to order off the short seafood listing, but they both liked their selections – blackened salmon and crab cakes. The high ceiling and the close placement of the tables means the background noise is quite intrusive, which I didn’t like.

With tip, the tab for my wife and I came to $95. We did not order wine or beer, however.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very, very good steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My significant other loves this place. Atmosphere is nice, not as elegant as Ruth's Chris in Tysons but also not as pricey. Portions and price are reasonable. Good place to go for a special night. Service is excellent and friendly.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's the Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Ray's the Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's the Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.