We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro 29 Diner

Metro 29 Diner
4711 Lee Hwy, Arlington, VA 22207-3406
703-528-2464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 675 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

As a foreigner, I'd call this a typical 50's diner from the outside appearance.

An extensive menu made choices difficult. All the sandwiches we chose were fine, as were the desserts. I know American portions are larger than at home, but on ordering an apple turnover and receiving something that was a triangle - 12 inch long side and 6 inch the other two, I was completely overfaced.

Having said that, I would certainly visit this place again, and just choose better!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    32
    36
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Real Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I'm from New York originally, so I know diners. Metro 29 is a real diner. It has that sort of semi-train car feeling. The portions are very generous and the food is tasty. The roast beef is good and the tuna fish sandwich is really, really good. So are the soups they serve. Interestingly, they have London Broil on the menu and...it's one of the best foods they serve. I don't call this comfort food because I don't eat food to feel comforted. I'm really into delis and diners; and unlike some of the other yuppie crap around that is made to fool Gen-X and Millennials, this is a diner. Now, the service is very good. And they have nice layer cakes for dessert--the chocolate ones are really good. Look if you come to a real diner enjoy yourself--you can get fat for a day because it is pleasurable, not comforting (a true therapist's term for food). Finally, the staff open the doors to patrons--alright! This is what is supposed to be done. You come into someone's house for a meal. Finally, all good diners and delis have toothpicks and mints for you on the way out. They understand that people over the age of 50 need those picks! Great place, very good food and you can make two meals out of it; or a meal and a nosh! Go Metro 29!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A really old fashioned Diner With Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have found Metro 29 diner today, and liked it alot. The food was very tasty, and the service was excellent. This Diner, has staff the will open the door for their guests upon entry and exit. You don't find that kind of service everywhere. I can tell you that this is a top notch diner. If your in Arlington, VA. and want a great diner to go and have a very nice meal, this is the spot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worlds Worst Pastrami Sandwich”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Disgusting pastrami from the carvery. First, it wasn't just carved from a nice juicy pastrami. It was regular precisely the same thickness slices that were then fried on a skillet, which dried the pastrami out. Then, on top of of that, the sandwich was put on the griddle. Sad excuse for a pastrami sandwich. Further proves that a good pastrami sandwich is not easy to find in Northern Virginia. This was my fourth visit and last. Too many dissappointments.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“3 out of 5 but why?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Tried this place (for dinner) on a recent trip to Washington DC. I saw many cars in the parking lot so why not?

Portions are rather big, so you BETTER come as hungry as possible. You may want to share if you have little kids (even the hamburger from the kids menu was huge).

Although service was good found it to be rather expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro 29 Diner also viewed

 

Been to Metro 29 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro 29 Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.