We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanpai Japanese Restaurant

Kanpai Japanese Restaurant
1401 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209-2306
703 527 8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 675 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Minnesota, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After a long day seeing the sites in DC we stopped at the Safeway to stock up on snacks for our room. On our return walk to our hotel we saw this restaurant and decided to get sushi to go. We chose several different rolls and they were all fantastic! We watched them make the sushi, and they were very quick. The prices were very good for the DC area. I will return when I am in the area again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    23
    6
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good at first”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I went there a couple of weeks ago with some friends. I ordered the Salmon broiled with KANPAI’s specially blended teryaki sauce. Although the piece of salmon was small, it was absolutely delicious. I was still thinking about it several days after.
Yesterday, I ordered the same thing (take out). I was surprised to see 3 huge pieces of salmon, a small portion of rice, a broken slice of carrot and a tiny piece of broccoli. It looked as though the veggies were thrown in there as an afterthought. The pieces of salmon looked and tasted old. I ate 1 piece and threw the rest away. It also cost twice as much as the first one - but that was my mistake; I must have ordered the dinner plate.
Dont think I will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

While staying in a hotel outside DC, we decided to find a nearby Japanese restaurant and chose this place based on the positive Tripadvisor reviews. We came here later at night, so it was pretty empty. Service was very efficient and friendly. The salad tasted very good with a sauce that worked perfectly with the lettuce. The miso soup was very good, too. I ordered a roll combo with one california roll, one salmon roll, one tuna roll, and one cucumber roll. All of them were very fresh and flavorful. My dad ordered an excellent katsudon. My sister ordered an udon soup with shrimp tempura, chicken, and an egg. It utilized simple ingredients flawlessly, allowing the broth, the noodles, and the proteins to shine without unnecessary distractions. Prices were very reasonable for the high quality food, and we would definitely come back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I recommend the "lunch box" - complete meal for about $10 with miso soup, lettuce salad, rice, and your choice of combinations of sashimi/sushi/tempura. We sat outside and enjoyed the sun. Service was great. One thing - the Yelp reviews are not consistent with Trip Advisor and Yelp has a number of negative comments. For me I'm sticking with 5 stars though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just ok..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was pretty hopeful about this restaurant given the online reviews, but went over the weekend and couldn't help but feel underwhelmed by the food. The food was fresh, but the rolls all seemd to taste the same. Food aside, the restaurant was clean and the service was good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanpai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kanpai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanpai Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.