We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanpai Japanese Restaurant

Kanpai Japanese Restaurant
1401 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209-2306
703 527 8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 700 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I recommend the "lunch box" - complete meal for about $10 with miso soup, lettuce salad, rice, and your choice of combinations of sashimi/sushi/tempura. We sat outside and enjoyed the sun. Service was great. One thing - the Yelp reviews are not consistent with Trip Advisor and Yelp has a number of negative comments. For me I'm sticking with 5 stars though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just ok..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was pretty hopeful about this restaurant given the online reviews, but went over the weekend and couldn't help but feel underwhelmed by the food. The food was fresh, but the rolls all seemd to taste the same. Food aside, the restaurant was clean and the service was good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

food was good, service was great. we had a great experience at this place. i am not too big on sushi, but gotta admit.. I like their sushi. Def will go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed dinner outside at Kanpai. The sushi was good as was the soup and salad. Prices were reasonable. Service was very good and the portions were good. We also had the mochi for dessert.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fallsburg, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“delicious late dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Rather than eat at the hotel restaurant, we took a chance on this Japanese restaurant. The chirashi was fresh, ample, and delicious. I had a soft shelled crab hand roll that was crisp and delicious. The plum wine was sweet and reasonably priced. The service was prompt, with a smile. All in all, an excellent choice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanpai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kanpai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanpai Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.